Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
Buy On
  1. Dec 14, 2018
    90
    Yo-Kai Watch 3, being the definitive edition of two Japan-only superb games, is here to remind us why the series is still alive on the Nintendo 3DS, how much it has evolved over the years and why gamers and fans alike should wait for the next installment on Nintendo’s newest platform. With a more developed and better approachable battle system, two big cities to explore, two stories to play through and even more Yo-Kai to battle and add to your Medallium, this new adventure promises tons of fun gameplay.
  2. Dec 5, 2018
    90
    With Yo-Kai Watch 4 in development for Nintendo Switch, the series is now bidding farewell to the platform it first called home. Thankfully, it’s doing so with the best version the franchise has offered yet in Yo-Kai Watch 3, throwing in every extra monster and mode into the one portable package. With a more nuanced battle system, larger sandboxes to explore, even more Yo-Kai to battle and add to your Medallium, this two-and-a-half-year-old game is a fresh as the day it first launched in Japan, and has given western 3DS owners one of console's best RPGs in the twilight of its years.
  3. Dec 21, 2018
    87
    Surprising reinvention of the Yo-Kai Watch franchise, with a game full of content and lots of changes, all for the good. Fans and newcomers alike will surely enjoy Yo-Kai Watch 3.
  4. Feb 7, 2019
    85
    There are very few games that can make me smile the entire way through and that counts for a lot.
  5. Dec 13, 2018
    85
    After two okay'ish Yo-Kai Watch games, this one finally hits home. There is so much interesting stuff to do, the story is told from two funny perspectives and it knows how to take a rpg-spot that used to belong to Pokémon.
  6. Dec 13, 2018
    85
    Yo-Kai Watch 3 is the most varied and compelling entry in the series.
  7. Dec 11, 2018
    85
    Yo-Kai Watch 3 is the third chapter of a series similar to the Pokémon franchise, but very original and very rich in contents.
  8. 85
    The story really shouldn't have worked, but by pulling a Phoenix Wright, they somehow found a way. Still, I think that switching between two stories isn't the best approach and the downtime with quests is somewhat damaging. Mind you, this is nothing you can't overcome with the right state of mind. The hours really fly by, and even after completion, I couldn't stop playing pieces where possible. For newcomers and veterans alike, this third installment has a little something for everyone.
  9. Dec 5, 2018
    85
    This third entry evolves and improves the formula to make it engaging and fun. The new combat system and the great amount of mini games make this new episode a great option for Yo-Kai Watch fans.
  10. Dec 5, 2018
    85
    Wider and incredibly fun while also adding more strategy, Yo-Kai Watch 3 is the best entry in the series.
  11. Dec 5, 2018
    85
    This third episode is a good way to rebound with the franchise, due to a new and more dynamic combat system and thanks to the introduction of a second character which has its own story and city to explore.
  12. Dec 9, 2018
    81
    A good game design and lots of content bring to us the best Yo-kai Watch game so far, even if there are still some things to update.
  13. Feb 28, 2019
    80
    Yo-kai Watch 3 is the ultimate edition of the series thus far. It may not have evolved much from 1 and 2, but its new Tactics Board combat system and novel American-inspired setting keep the game fresh. With two separate protagonists and storylines to tell, the game takes a massive 40+ hours to complete, not including the plethora of sidequests and full-fledged minigames. Unfortunately, the story drags for much of the first half, and the two towns may be too big for their own good. All things considered, this latest entry revived my fandom for Level-5’s hit series, and I wait with bated breath for what the Nintendo Switch’s Yo-kai Watch 4 has in store.
  14. Feb 12, 2019
    80
    For all of its problems in the first few hours, Yo-Kai Watch 3 turns itself around wonderfully for an experience most any player can enjoy. Its a great entry for fans new and old, and an indicator of the greater heights the series is headed toward.
  15. Feb 8, 2019
    80
    Thanks to some incredibly entertaining commentary on American culture and more polish than ever before, Yo-kai Watch 3 ends the series’ 3DS run on a high note. While it’s certainly intriguing to wonder how the RPG will have to adapt and evolve on Nintendo Switch, players can enjoy one last spirited adventure on the system that helped it become a phenomenon. It’s hard to go wrong with taking a trip to BBQ.
  16. Jan 24, 2019
    80
    Although on a mechanical level, Yo-kai Watch 3 isn't as polished as a Pokémon title, it makes up for this in droves with its flexibility, not to mention its sense of charm and adventure. Great fun.
  17. Jan 3, 2019
    80
    Yo-kai Watch 3 will offer most RPGamers plenty of hours of fun. The game makes good use of the 3DS’s dual-screen in its final entry on the system with Yo-kai Watch 4 already confirmed as a Switch title. There are some annoyances, mostly related to a bit of unnecessary padding and a few potential roadblocks, and there’s a bit of sense of quantity over quality in some of its side content, but its general upbeat attitude towards everything is very welcome and on the whole successful.
  18. Dec 5, 2018
    80
    Yo-Kai Watch 3 remains a convincing expression of a hybrid between JRPG, strategic and adventure: a childish vision, frizzed and colored by a rather obscure aspect of Japanese folklore, reinvented with the visionary inspiration of the artists of Level-5.
  19. Dec 5, 2018
    80
    A new adventure that comes full of new features such as having two protagonists and two parallel stories, many new Yo-kai, a renewed combat system, new locations and a large amount of content to discover. If you are a fan you cannot miss it.
  20. Dec 20, 2018
    75
    The sheer amount of content on offer outside the main storyline is, quite possibly, what makes Yo-kai Watch 3 so interesting to play.
  21. Dec 4, 2018
    75
    Yo-Kai Watch 3 is the continuation of a series that basically remains the same, but with some new features that make it a bit more interesting than its predecessors.
  22. Jan 28, 2019
    70
    Yo-Kai Watch 3 is easily the best game in the Level-5 trilogy and one which makes it worthy to hold on to the Nintendo 3DS. While the game's main plot is hardly its most interesting asset, its top-notch technical execution, the amount of new content and the urge to explore its new locations all contribute to make this the finest game of the trilogy and open the curiosity for what the series still has to bring.
  23. Dec 18, 2018
    70
    Yokai Watch 3 is a role-playing game developed for the Nintendo 3DS by Level-5, which is the sequel to Yo-kai Watch 2 and Yo-kai Watch Blasters. The game introduces a new battle system called the Tactics Medal Board. There are over 600 kinds of Yo-kai you can make friends with and use in battle.
  24. Dec 10, 2018
    65
    This third entry has more than 600 Yo-Kai and many things to do, but suffers due to passive fights. Because of that the game is very easy which makes it fun to play for the story. It's a shame the minigames take you out of the fun story though.
  25. Feb 15, 2019
    60
    There's not much to Yo-kai Watch 3, but there’s still a lot of charm to be found. The towns of Springdale and BBQ are both bright, pleasant places to be; the people in it are even more so. Visiting the world of Yo-kai Watch for the third time is a fun time, even though you’ll end up staying a lot longer than perhaps necessary.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Feb 14, 2019
    10
    I have not beat the game yet but, YKW2 I put around 400 hours in so I know these games pretty well. Yo-Kai Watch games are some of the mostI have not beat the game yet but, YKW2 I put around 400 hours in so I know these games pretty well. Yo-Kai Watch games are some of the most underrated games on any platform. People think its just a pokemon clone. In my opinion this game is 10x better than Pokemon. My thing is online battling. So the possibilities to make a tier zero team takes a lot of planning and grinding. I got up to rank online of Professor in YKW2. I guess people are just turned off by the mechanics. Give it a try and the story, even as an adult is very cleverly written and funny. My son and I are playing this game together. I don't know if I can "catch them all" as there are 600+ which is insane. The new crank-a-kai mechanic is kinda annoying. I put a star coin in and got a b rank out :(. This game is for kids but fair warning to parents buying it for younger kids. This game is really complex involving QR codes and other quirks to unlock parts of the game or catch yokai. kids age 7 may be able to beat the game but 70 percent of the game/yokai will be left unless you help them. And online battles when you face someone like me I will wipe your team without getting hit. I feel bad when I know I just beat some prob under age 10 kid. Anyways thats why my handle is GETGUD lol. Pick this game up, the best series on the 3DS bar none! And have fun with the most insane random number generator based game ever made! Get Gud! Full Review »
  2. Mar 2, 2019
    9
    Even though it may start slow, Yo-kai Watch 3 is one of the best games in the 3DS's library. The new tactics board system for battles makesEven though it may start slow, Yo-kai Watch 3 is one of the best games in the 3DS's library. The new tactics board system for battles makes them even more engaging and intense then before, allowing the player to position their Yo-kai for both offensive and defensive purposes. The game never seems to end, even after completing the main story the post game offers so much content, whether it's side quests or trying to befriend all of the game's 600+ Yo-kai, it makes the experience even more enjoyable. Overall Yo-kai Watch 3 is ones of the best monster collecting RPG's out there, and is definitely worth a buy for any RPG fan or anyone looking for a new 3DS game to play. Full Review »
  3. Mar 13, 2019
    9
    Clearly this is best game in the Yokai Watch series. There's tons more to do, a much longer and more involved story, more places to exploreClearly this is best game in the Yokai Watch series. There's tons more to do, a much longer and more involved story, more places to explore than ever before, it's really amazing how much they managed to pack into a 3DS cartridge. There are hundreds of hours of content in the game, and it's actually somewhat challenging at times, which is nice. The newly added combat system, along with all the other options is staggering but in the best way possible and it's easy to adjust to the changes if you played previous games. Most of the new Yo-kai are also really well designed and named. It's just a fun game on a system that appears to be on it's last legs, but is going out with a bang. Yokai Watch 3 is a must by even if you haven't played the previous games, simply because all of it's content will engross you to play it. Full Review »