User Score
2.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 4668 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    Come on guys, this is beyond a joke. It's multiplayer game that wants you to play with others and yet there is no incentive what so ever to do so. Forget the ps2 graphics, bugs, 0 NPCs, terrible gun play etc etc etc. This game literally fails at its core. What's funny is the audacity to actually implement micro transactions. Literally taking the consumer for huge joke.
  2. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    All around mess. No NPC's = no Fallout. Its a shame because map is big and world beautiful.
  3. Nov 18, 2018
    0
    This game is just an ultimate sh*t: sh*tty graphics, sh*tty optimization, sh*tty fetch quests, sh*tty online code, sh*tty cheater protection, sh*tty shooting, sh*tty scavenger-like gameplay, the sh*ttiest animations in the world. If you wanna support Bethesda, just buy a Skyrim once again instead of that sh*t.
  4. Nov 18, 2018
    0
    Bad game, absolutely bad game. Bethesda made another unFallout game for no one.
  5. Nov 18, 2018
    0
    This isnt even a fallout game. Taking out everything that made it good and giving us washed out bs how is this good or fun for that matter for anyone. Worst idea they ever came up with.
  6. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    Laggy glitchy unfinished no content mess. This is not worth 60 dollars.....it is barely worth 20! If this "game" was on nexus mods it wouldn't even be one of the best ones.
  7. Nov 20, 2018
    0
    The negative reviews are very much deserved for this game. it's on an engine that is over a decade old and was made for single player games. Many of the bugs in this game have existed for years in the past bugthesdas games and now people are telling me they are finally going to fix them, I find that hard to believe. Bugthesda should have made an entirely new engine for a game like this butThe negative reviews are very much deserved for this game. it's on an engine that is over a decade old and was made for single player games. Many of the bugs in this game have existed for years in the past bugthesdas games and now people are telling me they are finally going to fix them, I find that hard to believe. Bugthesda should have made an entirely new engine for a game like this but no, gotta spend the least amount of money possible. Another point to back this up: a majority of the assets in the game are from fallout 4 and 76s files are even compatible with fallout 4, don't know about you guys but that's seems extremely lazy to me.The file structure is also the same, that is why some people were able to make mods so easily. Again, seems very lazy to me. Expand
  8. Nov 18, 2018
    0
    Engine from Morrorwind, Buggy as hell, boring Quest, no real Story, Empty World, ugly Game, PvP not working.. What a lazy game... shame on u
  9. Nov 22, 2018
    0
    Bethesda selling this game for 60$ like its a AAA game only comes across as a cash grab to me. I didn't like the way the did the chat wheel in Fallout 4, I must say they did get rid of it and replaced it with nothing at all, then continued that idea till they had fallout 76 "completed". this would have been a fine DLC for Fallout 4, not a stand-alone that looks like a copy past of 4.
  10. Nov 18, 2018
    0
    Worst Fallout game EVER. Bethesda must return to TES and bring back Fallout to Obsidian.
  11. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    Why do we put up with this?
    Have some smarts people, don't let big publishers fool you into preorders.
    For them to be able to profit off rubbish like this is a direct insult upon your intelligence.
    We live in an age of information, USE IT.
  12. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Time for Bethesda to move on with this engine and update their framework. In 2018 game looks bad and works like broken early access.
  13. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    Complete TRASH, bugged, broken and disgusting money-grab with absolutely no story. Do not buy!
  14. Nov 29, 2018
    0
    Bethesda are losing it. This is neither MP nor SP, it's some kind of degenerated mix in between. Not that we wanted a FO mp - FO was always SP and should've remained SP.

    Also please don't force us to use Bethesda client.. Why? Why not just have people get it from wherever they want. Steam, GOG etc. This is garbage and I really do not recommend it. FO3, NV, FO4 are all so much better.
  15. Nov 18, 2018
    0
    I was sold on the awesome setting of the Fallout universe. Then Fo76 just crapped all over it. This is THE biggest waste of money I can ever recall spending money on and I purchased Battlecruiser 3000AD.

    *No story
    *Terrible enemy AI
    *Terrible gun play
    *Single player engine modified for MP with all the Bethesda bugs

    Avoid this like the plague.
  16. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Boring, unfinished, buggy, bad console port with outdated graphics, no optimisation, empty sandbox with **** fps combat.
    PS Its not Fallout.
  17. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    After 20 hours of playing the game i'm requesting a refund as the game is lacking in content and care from the creators ,
    it shouldn't have ever costed 60$ with such a terrible engine where the game is degrading and becoming unplayable.
    the graphics haven't upgraded since fallout 4, also they locked the game at 30fps. everything looks like plastic and people lag spike around the god
    After 20 hours of playing the game i'm requesting a refund as the game is lacking in content and care from the creators ,
    it shouldn't have ever costed 60$ with such a terrible engine where the game is degrading and becoming unplayable.
    the graphics haven't upgraded since fallout 4,
    also they locked the game at 30fps.
    everything looks like plastic and people lag spike around the god damn map and ais are losing their walking animations mid fight.
    i feel i bought a beta of a game for 60$ and its such a shame that a AAA game is this awful and unplayable how did Bethesda think it was even ok to sell this game with how many problems it has.
    Expand
  18. Nov 18, 2018
    0
    No PC options that have become standard, no story, no NPCs, world is boring, more bugs then a 2 dollar whore, launcher deletes game, launcher won't let you uninstall game, microtransactions, frame rate locked at 63, No STEAM.
  19. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    That's a true PIECE OF **** not Fallout game... Just vote by your wallet peoples and DONT BUY THIS **** Maybe then, that GREEDY BETHESDA corporation will start to respect the Fallout fans and the players, becouse for now they have us in their asses and everything that they want t's only our CA$H.
  20. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Not like this... not like this. This is not the Fallout we want. It's not even a RPG we want.

    This feels like multiplayer mod for Fallout 3 where every texture is re-used, everything feels old and everything is just meh. If you are playing with a friend or two then Fallout 76 is "just fine" but alone is just pure garbage. There's no story, no NPS's, nothing. You just listen the
    Not like this... not like this. This is not the Fallout we want. It's not even a RPG we want.

    This feels like multiplayer mod for Fallout 3 where every texture is re-used, everything feels old and everything is just meh. If you are playing with a friend or two then Fallout 76 is "just fine" but alone is just pure garbage. There's no story, no NPS's, nothing. You just listen the holotapes and travel from A to B while killing a few robots, mutants or ghouls... Even base managing is a straight ripoff from Fallout 4.

    It's just hard to understand that this game is made by Bethesda who also made Elder Scrolls Online.
    Expand
  21. Nov 18, 2018
    0
    This is a No Man's Sky level of disaster for Bethesda.

    I've been a fan of Fallout since Fallout 1, and I wanted to like this game. The setting lends itself well to a survivor game, and the concept of being able to build structures with permanence in a shared fallout world is a wonderful dream. But a dream it will remain. If a game isn't going to have a story, it needs to have a
    This is a No Man's Sky level of disaster for Bethesda.

    I've been a fan of Fallout since Fallout 1, and I wanted to like this game. The setting lends itself well to a survivor game, and the concept of being able to build structures with permanence in a shared fallout world is a wonderful dream. But a dream it will remain.

    If a game isn't going to have a story, it needs to have a compelling world and environment. If it isn't going to have a compelling world and environment, it needs to have a great story. There is no story in Fallout 76, and the limitation on building structures (and the only permanent structures are those near your CAMP deployment [UPDATE: even those structures will randomly disappear without warning, it turns out]), makes building a futile waste of time. You're better off investing time into Fallout 4 settlements. Adding to this frustration is litany of poor design choices and bugs - no push to talk, no engine update (setting is in West Virginia but you can't climb up ledges when jumping at them - even DOOM lets you do this), its a social game that limits your party to four, the graphics are mediocre for the era, server crashes aren't uncommon. I really want to say something positive about the game because I love the Fallout franchise, but this honestly feels like discovering while you still care about your significant other, they've given up on the relationship.

    This game lacks story, it lacks environment, and it comes with an unruly bucket of bugs from an outdated engine that needed to be put out to pasture after Skyrim. After the first day of playing it the only motivation I had for keeping at it was to see if it ever got compelling in its own right besides having Fallout in the title. It doesn't. This is the kind of work I'd expect, and be excited for, if it came from community modders, for free. This is not a AAA title release. Save your money for then it's 10 dollars.

    This is a Vault-Tec style social experiment at total deprivation of satisfaction.
    Expand
  22. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    enough of this bethesda this is just a cashgrab if you have interest for this game ,wait dont buy intil get better and its in sale when the game fix most of bugs and fix the security and hacks issues
  23. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Bethesda was hijacked by an Early Access developer's studio, apparently which resulted in Epic Fail that is fallout 76; Please do not purchase under any circumstances.
  24. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Bethesda. You promised us that war never changes. Well, it did change. It became a laggy and boring experience. Huge, empty sandbox without any meaningful content. This isn't the Fallout we want.
  25. Dec 5, 2018
    0
    2 minutes ago I registered a metacritic account just to **** on this shell of a game, it have no substance, empty as hell and the control feels like it was made by digital homicide, the graphics looks horrifyingly horrible compare to every 2018 games that is made by other "big companies", and the server crash on a daily basis. Bathesda is clearly milking this game so they can have enough2 minutes ago I registered a metacritic account just to **** on this shell of a game, it have no substance, empty as hell and the control feels like it was made by digital homicide, the graphics looks horrifyingly horrible compare to every 2018 games that is made by other "big companies", and the server crash on a daily basis. Bathesda is clearly milking this game so they can have enough budget for fallout 5. DON'T BUY THIS GAME.

    Edit: and enough with this "everyone have their own opinion" bs, there is a clear difference between "opinions" and facts, the fact that Bethesda made a half made, bug rendered game is just pathetic, it is getting old that people are still super defensive towards Bethesda and their "quality games" after all these years with little to no change. And in the counter of "I enjoy this game with my friends" statement, well no **** **** you dip****, anything can be fun with friends, even watching Boku no Pico is fun with friends, but should anyone watch a child gay porn just because "it is fun with friends"?? Hell nah. Bethesda stripped everything good out of the fallout franchise and expected people to like it, well that 80% sale drop is the direct **** you" response to Bethesda from fans, and I am glad that a big company finally gets punished by their ****ty actions
    Expand
  26. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    In a world where Fallout 3 is 10 and New Vegas is 9 and Fallout 4 is 8, Fallout 76 is 1. But in a world where there are Half-Life, GTA, Bioshock and other games this game is flat out 0. That is no hate towards the game but an honest score. Fallout game where there is practically no story, no human npc's and is basically all the worse parts of fallout 4. This game could have been done soIn a world where Fallout 3 is 10 and New Vegas is 9 and Fallout 4 is 8, Fallout 76 is 1. But in a world where there are Half-Life, GTA, Bioshock and other games this game is flat out 0. That is no hate towards the game but an honest score. Fallout game where there is practically no story, no human npc's and is basically all the worse parts of fallout 4. This game could have been done so much better. This game just feels like midterm cashgrab before Fallout 5.
    And bethesdas explanation of ''this game is better with friends'' is sad, because everything is better with friends, watching paint dry or lawn grow is better with friends.
    Expand
  27. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    I only start playing the franchise with fallout 4 and well, the game was really good, the graphism were pretty rough but overall that was a fun experience.

    I continue now with Fallout 76 with 3 friends and my god, this game has a lot of things to patch, the graphism did not evolove a bit in 3 years and the performance are terrific. First of all, the numbers of bugs and quests that
    I only start playing the franchise with fallout 4 and well, the game was really good, the graphism were pretty rough but overall that was a fun experience.

    I continue now with Fallout 76 with 3 friends and my god, this game has a lot of things to patch, the graphism did not evolove a bit in 3 years and the performance are terrific.

    First of all, the numbers of bugs and quests that are blocked because of them are quite large, I am not even talking about the events which are 1 times on 3 event, not possible to finish.

    The narative is not very interesting as we can't refer ourself to any character as there is none, the notes and holoband are an horror to read or listen to.

    The garaphical bugs are everywhere some animations does not launch properly, shadows are all black or none existent. The graphics are still really rough and can't be considered as a style of the studio. When graphism are bad we have to say it.

    Lot of mechanics are not good at all, as a french player the controls for base construction and overall gameplay are not really good, I have to find workaround to move in construction mode and I cannot move when I am lauching a grenade because the studio did not think of the shortcuts of nvidia.

    Also there was a lot of fps drop during my playtime going to 20 fps and going back to 60, 2 second after.

    To conclude, I think the game is not bad at all for the price, you can have fun on it. But it really need a lot of fix and the engine need a lot of work for the next games.
    Expand
  28. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    What upsets me about this game is i was stupid enough to buy it
    because i am a fallout junkie! But the worst part?......... it could be a very
    longgggg time before a real FaLLOut game comes out again!
  29. Nov 19, 2018
    0
    I'm 16 hours in and I don't understand what this "game" is trying to be. Role playing? I've yet to experience a moment of it? The majority of people are just moving from A to B it's like starring at the sun but you paid a company for the privilege to do so.
  30. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    Absolutely not. No. This cannot go on, Bethesda should NOT be allowed to push this garbage anymore. It's time to hand Elder Scrolls and Fallout to a new dev, and Bethesda should just stick to publishing games.
  31. Nov 20, 2018
    0
    This game is nothing but a pile of Garbage. Totally doesn't live up to the hype of what this series is supposed to deliver. I've lost faith in Fallout and the future of this franchise which lies in the risk of being dominated with greed by Bethesda who keeps repeating the same mistakes. Totally not worth the sixty dollars you worked hard for or if you're from Australia. It's not worthThis game is nothing but a pile of Garbage. Totally doesn't live up to the hype of what this series is supposed to deliver. I've lost faith in Fallout and the future of this franchise which lies in the risk of being dominated with greed by Bethesda who keeps repeating the same mistakes. Totally not worth the sixty dollars you worked hard for or if you're from Australia. It's not worth ninety-nine dollars. I just hope this game will go free to play as it is really in a bad state. Bethesda doesn't seem to be the developers we recognize anymore because of corporate greed and money hungry idiots in the game industry. If the next Fallout game follows what 76 is right now. I will totally not bother playing it. Obsidian should handle the franchise more than Bethesda Game Studios either because Todd Howard's mind has turned twisted or he is really scooping the influence of modern video games that have microtransactions (eg. Black Ops, Fortnite). Clearly Obsidian made their Fallout Game, Fallout New Vegas a masterpiece because it was different and not cliched compared to Bethesda. Bethesda Game Studios should diversify the ways we can play Fallout games like what Obsidian achieved. The Fanbase should really admit to what their favourite game developers are doing, which is backstabbing them. And overshadowing the greed that they possess. Expand
  32. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    After playing for a few hours, I got absolutely tired of it. No story, no companions and the “main missions” are more like side missions. Not a fan of this new game concept. Bedestha does not know what exactly their fans actually want! This is a huge mistake and a total waste of the company’s effort!

    Face it. We all know this is just “Fallout 4 Online” in disguise, just like GTA Online.
    After playing for a few hours, I got absolutely tired of it. No story, no companions and the “main missions” are more like side missions. Not a fan of this new game concept. Bedestha does not know what exactly their fans actually want! This is a huge mistake and a total waste of the company’s effort!

    Face it. We all know this is just “Fallout 4 Online” in disguise, just like GTA Online. The only difference is that users pay the cost upfront and not via micro transactions.
    Expand
  33. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    game is extremely glitchy. having to drink water and eat food constantly is very annoying as well as not being able to carry hardly any items without becoming overencumbered. no nps makes for a very dull story line. i do not recommend this game to anyone even if you are a fallout fan because all it will do is make you mad
  34. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    I'm registering my account here just to say the same as already said by hundreds. If you are a fan of Fallout 1, 2, 3 (NV), even the 4th... Don't buy. You will be sad, you will be disappointed.
    Such a waste... Not my money.. What they did with Fallout.
  35. Nov 16, 2018
    1
    It's time to stop giving Bethesda a free pass on awful bugs, bland content and putting the money above their customers. It's time to put our foot down and demand better for our $60.

    Post-Skyrim, Bethesda has turned ugly. They've taken the same sociopathic hyper-corporate road as EA and Activision, chasing that sweet cash money to the nth degree while ruthlessly exploiting their fan base
    It's time to stop giving Bethesda a free pass on awful bugs, bland content and putting the money above their customers. It's time to put our foot down and demand better for our $60.

    Post-Skyrim, Bethesda has turned ugly. They've taken the same sociopathic hyper-corporate road as EA and Activision, chasing that sweet cash money to the nth degree while ruthlessly exploiting their fan base and making inferior games.

    For some reason they've been allowed to get away with this for years. The bought-and-paid-for reviewers seem to find "Bethesda bugs" charming and quaint, even joking about how they're "part of the experience".

    Maybe if you get a free review copy of the game they are terribly amusing, but when I'm paying $60 for the privilege I expect the game to run properly and not have to hack the .ini files for hours myself to get it to work. Top "journalists", how much is Bethesda paying you again?

    Anyway, to the game; Fallout 76 is more of the same bland, buggy tripe that we got with Fallout 4 (to the extent it's essentially a multiplayer mod).

    It comes from the same school of cash-grab thought as Metal Gear Survive. Fallout 76's ancient engine is poorly diguised with a flaking new coat of beige paint.

    Unlike single-player Betheda releases, they can't rely wholly on unpaid amateur modders to fix their bugs this time around and so they're likely here to stay. At least it means they won't get to exploit their dedicated community to do their work for them for free.

    Continuing on from Fallout 4's hollow stripping down of the Fallout franchise, Fallout 76 goes another step further, removing all NPCs and replacing them with the cheap, boring terminals and holotapes of Fallout 3 and 4. You know, those excruciatingly boring and meaningless quests people hated (yet are very easy to make)...there's a whole game of those now. Yippee!

    The MP component itself is underwhelming, with castrated PvP (because they didn't want it to be too harsh for the ultra-casuals they're appealing to) and boring co-op. It's no fun to run around in an empty world where there's nothing to do and no real plot.

    Ignore the inevitable 10/10 IGN and "actually I quite like the politics" Kotaku reviews, as they excitedly kiss the rumps of their masters. Bethesda have churned out re-release after re-release of Skyrim, tried to force "Paid Mods" into their games and now they've moved into cynical cash-grab territory. It's time to push back.
    Expand
  36. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This is not fallout, heck, it's not even a game, it's a shell of a broken piece of garbage, completely lifeless, buggy and empty. Bethesda has reached a new low, I hadn't seen such a terrible boring and unfinished "game" in my life. This thing is worth $60 and with microtransactions, which by the way it's the only thing that works properly? What a joke! Avoid at all cost! this broken pieceThis is not fallout, heck, it's not even a game, it's a shell of a broken piece of garbage, completely lifeless, buggy and empty. Bethesda has reached a new low, I hadn't seen such a terrible boring and unfinished "game" in my life. This thing is worth $60 and with microtransactions, which by the way it's the only thing that works properly? What a joke! Avoid at all cost! this broken piece of crap is the best definition of barren. I hadn't felt so insulted in my life, how can you destroy the fallout franchise like this? give it to Obsidian so they can do it justice. You with Fallout and Activision Blizzard with Diablo are in a competition to see who can destroy their franchise first Expand
  37. Nov 18, 2018
    0
    After Fallout 4 and Skyrim I was so excited to finally play Fallout 76.
    1- Paid $70 for the pre-order PC game to be posted to me, only to find it was an empty game case with a download code - RIDICULOUS
    2- Finally booted up only for the server to disconnect every time within 5 minutes of starting 3- Waited another day to play and finally got out of Vault 76, only for the game to
    After Fallout 4 and Skyrim I was so excited to finally play Fallout 76.
    1- Paid $70 for the pre-order PC game to be posted to me, only to find it was an empty game case with a download code - RIDICULOUS
    2- Finally booted up only for the server to disconnect every time within 5 minutes of starting
    3- Waited another day to play and finally got out of Vault 76, only for the game to disconnect within 30 seconds of playing... this happened 3 times before i cut my losses and went back to playing RDR2 on PS4. Don't know if I'll even both trying to play it again.
    Expand
  38. Nov 26, 2018
    1
    There is no NPC.
    There is no story.
    There is no Fallout universe.
    There is no survival feeling.
    This not Fallout. It looks fake.
    1/10
  39. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    -- Graphique pas améliorés depuis Fallout4..
    -- Quêtes FEDEX
    -- Pas de PNJ HUMAIN -- Un monde rempli de goule, d'autres goules... et pour finir des goules.... -- Un monde qui est désespérément vide avec un manque de lien évident entre les zones. -- Finalement un multi GRAVEMENT INUTILE (POURQUOI CE MULTI QUI NE SERT A RIEN?) Bref je me fait chier dans ce jeu alors que j'ai fini 2
    -- Graphique pas améliorés depuis Fallout4..
    -- Quêtes FEDEX
    -- Pas de PNJ HUMAIN
    -- Un monde rempli de goule, d'autres goules... et pour finir des goules....
    -- Un monde qui est désespérément vide avec un manque de lien évident entre les zones.
    -- Finalement un multi GRAVEMENT INUTILE (POURQUOI CE MULTI QUI NE SERT A RIEN?)

    Bref je me fait chier dans ce jeu alors que j'ai fini 2 fois fallout4 à fond...
    Expand
  40. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Баги, тысячи их, начиная от невозможности носить ПА, до пропажи квестов.
    Мир без нпс, такой же скучный и серый как без людей
    Нет баланса, школа Ваттон как пример.
    По сути, ЭТО и есть бета-тест, а игра будет, позже...
  41. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Do not Buy! There is nothing that deserves your attention. The game is just bad.
  42. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Every single location and event ive been to has bugged out so far. I gave up after just 3 hours. I kill the same mob five times and it comes back up. I try to claim a workstation and it instantly gets attacked, mobs get stuck below the factory and event is stuck. Not to mention the constant stuttering and **** gameplay feeling. GG, **** scam.,
  43. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    60$ Mod for Follout4
    All game aspects are so badly.... i not have a words
    RDR2 more RPG than Fallout
  44. Nov 24, 2018
    0
    An absolute travesty on consumers. A buggy mess that is without question inexcusable to put on the market. This game, at least if you care one bit about the gaming future, is a must pass. The game itself isn't worth two stones, play ark or rust if you want a better experience in the same vein.
  45. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    As a lover of the franchise I had to create an account here in Metacritic just to write the following lines:

    Bethesda doesn't care for its costumers, at all. I tried so hard to defend this game and give this installment a chance, but after playing a few hours after release and getting bored as hell, I had to ask for refund just to find out they won't give your money back after the
    As a lover of the franchise I had to create an account here in Metacritic just to write the following lines:

    Bethesda doesn't care for its costumers, at all. I tried so hard to defend this game and give this installment a chance, but after playing a few hours after release and getting bored as hell, I had to ask for refund just to find out they won't give your money back after the release date of the game.

    This is the last time I buy a game as a pre-order. And probably the last time I'll ever buy a Bethesda game.

    What is Fallout without the factions fighting for power, heartbreaking stories and awesome companions?

    The game strongest point - its combat system - is unresponsive and laggy. Meelee build is just impossible or not worthy.

    God forgive me for paying this sick joke of a Fallout 4 multiplayer mod the price of a full retail game. Costumers, speak with your wallets.
    Expand
  46. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    OH dear what a let down after playing RDR 2, honesty is what is missing from this game! If the developer had been up front and honest about what the game is and is not, then Beth net wouldn't be in such a mess and I might have been able to rate it higher.

    This is simply an online demo of FO 4 nothing more and, at present at least, somewhat less. That is how it should have been
    OH dear what a let down after playing RDR 2, honesty is what is missing from this game! If the developer had been up front and honest about what the game is and is not, then Beth net wouldn't be in such a mess and I might have been able to rate it higher.

    This is simply an online demo of FO 4 nothing more and, at present at least, somewhat less. That is how it should have been announced, a demo with ongoing dlc improvements. Easy really, quite acceptable the fans would have been engaged, money would still be made (in game) and time to bed in the new engine they would have bought with the enormous amounts of cash we have paid out over the years.

    The world is pretty enough though graphics are starting to feel dated, it is also very large and sparsely populated (dlc anyone?), there are two largish settlements to occupy you for 2-3 hours but no more, unless your "grinding". The silliest part about quest and story lines being handed out by the deceased is....... why were they busy doing "dear diary" entries (well just about) instead of panicking or preparing or looting or rooting....... absolutely bare minimum of immersion. Pretty easy to play solo, which is just as well unless you byo friends!

    Gosh, by industry standards this is so far off the mark for a AAA in all areas, right down to a 50G launch day patch.... I refer you to my opening paragraphs.

    Ohh yeah one more thing, dont bother buying the physical game, the dvd is cardboard (I know right) with a download token hahahahahaha
    Expand
  47. Nov 25, 2018
    0
    Absolute disappointment of a **** game. A world devoid of anything compelling. A badly coded mess that is open to multi-player cheating and opens you up for hacking.

    Avoid this piece like the plague. Consider all reasons why you loved playing Fallout in the past like me any many other fans. Now, take out all these positive aspects and you get Fallout 76.
  48. Nov 17, 2018
    0
    It's bad!! Seriously everything about this game!! Reminds me too much of fallout 4
  49. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This is simply not a game. Any other survival game is better, including original DayZ mod.
  50. Nov 22, 2018
    3
    Love the in-game world, but this is barely a game, and definitely not what Fallout should be. Still playing with 25 hours of in-game play, but what is the point. What are workshops for? Why do I build when the game world resets. Why the hell is there a limit of stored resources when that is pretty much all we have to do is collect things? Total Crap!
  51. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    F76 is disaster, dont get me wrong i love Fallout/elder scrolls games and F76 is a good idea ,but B.net rushed for money grab instead of making quality game.
  52. Nov 24, 2018
    0
    Let's be honest. If this DIDN'T have the 'Fallout' title on it, nobody would pay $60 for it. Nobody would even take a second look at it. It's only because it's related to Fallout and Bethesda, that some people even play it. Those of you who do, are supporting terrible games, and you should be ashamed of yourselves. You are making the video game industry what it is today. A monetizing,Let's be honest. If this DIDN'T have the 'Fallout' title on it, nobody would pay $60 for it. Nobody would even take a second look at it. It's only because it's related to Fallout and Bethesda, that some people even play it. Those of you who do, are supporting terrible games, and you should be ashamed of yourselves. You are making the video game industry what it is today. A monetizing, early-access, glitch and bug ridden, 'do it just to get it done', royally misguided sack of horse manure industry. Congrats, you ruined it for everyone else. Expand
  53. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    At first it looks interesting - looting and such, but it gets pretty awful. I guess Zenimax will need another Morrowind again, to rise again.
  54. Nov 22, 2018
    2
    This is fallout...in a sense. Here's what Bethesda did wrong...

    The Fallout series has, for the most part, been a single player game with a wasteland full of NPC characters to interact with to breathe life into the wasteland. There was plenty to do, plenty of NPCs to interact with, and quests kept you engaged. Now comes Fallout 76, add vivid colors, online multiplayer, but dropping
    This is fallout...in a sense. Here's what Bethesda did wrong...

    The Fallout series has, for the most part, been a single player game with a wasteland full of NPC characters to interact with to breathe life into the wasteland. There was plenty to do, plenty of NPCs to interact with, and quests kept you engaged. Now comes Fallout 76, add vivid colors, online multiplayer, but dropping almost all NPCs which has literally sucked the life out of the wasteland. Really, only 24 real-life players to group up with in an attempt to bring the "world" alive? In the first couple of hours of play, I only came across 3 other people. One was so bored that he just went around shooting everyone. I started to become bored.

    Bethesda should have taken Fallout through some "baby-steps" to get it to a full-fledged online multiplayer game. Fallout 76 could have been a pretty good online game, even with just 24 online players, IF they would have kept the vibrant world of NPCs around to keep the world "alive". They should have eased the Fallout community from the usual single-player game into a small interaction of online multiplayer gaming. Work out all the mechanics, fine-tune the multiplayer interaction, etc. They could have gotten away with just 24 players per server if there was enough other NPC/quests to keep you engaged. Once they work out all the issue and streamline the multiplayer experience, and only after this baby-step into the multi-player world, should they have attempted an online version of Fallout devoid of NPCs. And hopefully, servers with about 4-5 times the number of actual online-players to help compensate a Fallout world that would be devoid of NPCs.

    Bethesda has taken a great single-player game and tried to do a full-on sprint into the online world and has fallen flat on their face with it. Which is strangle as Elder Scrolls Online seems like a decent game and they should have partnered with the developer for ESO to get it right.

    It's just not keeping my interest and the pop-up "side" quests don't do a thing for me either. The world is literally dead and devoid of humans (NPCs) and with only 24 other players on the server, the server feels dead. The game feels like it's already dead... The great Vault-Tec online experiment with Vault 76 seems to be a complete failure. Hopefully, the next vault will have better success than 76 did.

    I do love the Fallout series, and I will play some more of Fallout 76. But I don't see me putting in the days-on-end into 76 as I did with previous Fallout versions.
    Expand
  55. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    Been playing Fallout since 1997 and loved every title since.. until this one.
    F76 is just not a Fallout game. It is a generic multilayer game we already have way too much of.
    I still don't know what they where thinking.. why take a timeless and classic franchise as Fallout and ruin it with a cash grab like that... then again, kinda the same thing happened back then with Fallout Tactics.
    Been playing Fallout since 1997 and loved every title since.. until this one.
    F76 is just not a Fallout game. It is a generic multilayer game we already have way too much of.
    I still don't know what they where thinking.. why take a timeless and classic franchise as Fallout and ruin it with a cash grab like that... then again, kinda the same thing happened back then with Fallout Tactics. And nobody nowadays is still talking about that one... for a good reason!
    That aside, just looking at it is for what it is... it is a mediocre multiplayer survival game, full of bugs and glitches. Nothing special!
    No npcs, no story, no great characters, no great moments that stick with you for years, like we had in the "real" Fallout games!
    Personally biggest disappointment this year.. but hey, I still have fun with the classic and newer Fallout titles.
    Expand
  56. Nov 16, 2018
    3
    There is no reason why this game should exist; Fallout 76 is a watered-down version of an already watered-down Fallout 4. Simple, finicky, glitchy, empty, and a waste of time. Thumbs down.
  57. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    What a mockery to the Fallout fans , making an MP only experience with zero NPC's , a graphic engine since the 2010 era and filled with micro transactions. Anyone supporting this garbage product should rethink their existence.
  58. Nov 23, 2018
    1
    Extremely disappointing "thing", sorry i cant call it a "game" as it is not even remotely fun, and when you can actually play it you run into countless bugs and issues and crashes and you simply have enough and say ok, time to refund. Even a hardcore mindless sheep fan has his limits, and bethesda managed to piss off a lot of them .

    Let me tell you what they wanted to achieve with FO76,
    Extremely disappointing "thing", sorry i cant call it a "game" as it is not even remotely fun, and when you can actually play it you run into countless bugs and issues and crashes and you simply have enough and say ok, time to refund. Even a hardcore mindless sheep fan has his limits, and bethesda managed to piss off a lot of them .

    Let me tell you what they wanted to achieve with FO76, all their next titles are to be released in the distant future, therefore they need something to cash in on in the long term, here comes FO76, perfectly crafted with Micros in mind, with a full price in mind, prefectly created to empty peoples pockets.

    But theres a catch, they were either expecting a huge backlash and were prepared for it or they simply did not give a damn and said bleh, "true fans" will still buy it and enjoy it, let them "rage"

    Nope, morons, it does not work like that and youve just lost countless fans by releasing doing this mischievous cancerous abortion on the market while maintaining your arrogance. You will pay for it
    Expand
  59. Nov 16, 2018
    1
    I cant quantify the amount of sheer disappointment, i knew i should have canceled my pre-order. The game, if you could call it that, is among the worst quality I've seen in 20 years of gaming. Don't waste your time and money on this. Buy red dead 2 you'll have a much better time.
  60. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    God Save Fallout. Fallout is Dead. A vapid waste of time. Spend your precious time on something else because anything is better than this trash heap.
  61. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    A terrible lazy insult to all Bethesda fans, the fallout and elder scrolls game need an updated engine and a better vision for their games.
  62. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Been a die hard Fallout/Bethesda fan since Fallout 2 was released. I tried so hard to like this game. I desperately wanted to like this game. I overlooked the poor graphics and game performance, the bugs, the lack of story, terrible gunplay and controls (even by fallout standards), and the annoying multiplayer aspects. I finally lost it when after 25+ hours of grinding I still felt like myBeen a die hard Fallout/Bethesda fan since Fallout 2 was released. I tried so hard to like this game. I desperately wanted to like this game. I overlooked the poor graphics and game performance, the bugs, the lack of story, terrible gunplay and controls (even by fallout standards), and the annoying multiplayer aspects. I finally lost it when after 25+ hours of grinding I still felt like my character was an empty shell of what it had been in previous fallout games, and like I was using a pea shooter to attack hordes of overpowered enemies with unresponsive controls in combat to boot. I truly regret buying this game, and it takes a lot for me to say that because of how much I liked* Bethesda. Expand
  63. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Bethesda didn't release the game on Steam or Gog for a reason. i can't blame them. As a hardcore fallout fan i've played it in beta and after release, the game is still an ugly buggy mess.

    Have a brain and don't trust those payed shills that gave it a 10. The game itself would deserve a 4, but their shady tactics deserve a 0
  64. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    This game is unfinished. I'm not sure if some of the positive reviews are shills or just delusional fanboys. The endless fetch quests will put you right to sleep. The T-Posing enemies will break any chance of immersion you hope to have. The Beta was more of a softlaunch to try and distract buyers from the fact that this game is a buggy unfinished mess. If this game was on Steam it would beThis game is unfinished. I'm not sure if some of the positive reviews are shills or just delusional fanboys. The endless fetch quests will put you right to sleep. The T-Posing enemies will break any chance of immersion you hope to have. The Beta was more of a softlaunch to try and distract buyers from the fact that this game is a buggy unfinished mess. If this game was on Steam it would be mass refunded. Expand
  65. Sal
    Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Typical Bethesda. Half finished buggy mess on release, but mods will fix i.... oh crap.
  66. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    From the very first second of playing, I was greeted with the sound of a man deeply taking drags on a vape and commentating his every thought while I used the horribly clunky face customizer as fast as I could so that I could reach a menu where I could mute the player.

    Shortly after, a Brahman spawned on me inside a bathroom, trapping me. This is the experience of Fallout 76.
    From the very first second of playing, I was greeted with the sound of a man deeply taking drags on a vape and commentating his every thought while I used the horribly clunky face customizer as fast as I could so that I could reach a menu where I could mute the player.

    Shortly after, a Brahman spawned on me inside a bathroom, trapping me.

    This is the experience of Fallout 76. Obnoxious other players who are there occasionally, and when they aren't you still suffer by losing out on NPCs, VATs, being able to pause the game and just generally everything that makes Fallout a good game.

    I do not think I have ever been so disappointed in a "AAA" release.

    On top of this, when I went to pick up my physical copy from GameStop (which was ordered 5 months ago) the disk was made of cardboard and had a code stamped on it for download. Now I want to return the game but GameStop "doesn't accept returns on digital purchases," one of the reasons I ordered a physical copy in the first place.

    Just a colossal failure on the part of both Bethesda and GameStop.
    Expand
  67. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    I am disgusted that this is what Bethesda has sunk to. Congratulations on screwing up your game, can't wait for games journalists to pile on in an attempt to save their corporate overlord.
  68. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    It's like they took Fallout 4 and removed everything good about it.

    It's not just that the game isn't worth $60- it's not worth an hour of your time.

    Play DayZ, or Rust or something. This game is an abortion of an attempt, and it's sad it has the name Bethesda on it.
  69. Nov 17, 2018
    1
    Dull, dull, dull... There's no joy in this game. The story is unrelentingly grim and entirely unengaging. There are the inevitable bugs but nothing about the game suggests it'll be worth playing if they ever bother to fix them.
  70. Nov 20, 2018
    0
    If only Bethesda's development team was effective as the makreting team... 3 years on from Fallout 4 and we still see the same engine that dates back to Skyrim being used, not a great start. After leaving the vault the world already felt rather empty, the foes feel far too easy to defeat especially if you were used to playing on a higher difficulty on prior games. Especially Fallout 4,If only Bethesda's development team was effective as the makreting team... 3 years on from Fallout 4 and we still see the same engine that dates back to Skyrim being used, not a great start. After leaving the vault the world already felt rather empty, the foes feel far too easy to defeat especially if you were used to playing on a higher difficulty on prior games. Especially Fallout 4, which this game is like minus NPCs and a somewhat meaningful story, did all of this have to be sacrificed due to the fact it's an online game? I personally think not. Bethesda should consider swallowing their pride and consider hiring Obsidian or another half competent team of developers in the future. They did with New Vegas which was released 8 years ago and had a time span of 18 months to be completed, yet that game is still played by many to this day and is a renowned classic. Just to mention I personally don't care about the bugs as this game would still be horrendous even if it was a bug free game, this game has many issues that need to tackled going forward before we even need mention the bugs. If you're considering purchasing this game, keep your 60 bucks or whatever the price is where you reside. Bethesda should be ashamed of themselves for charging what they would for a standard AAA title for a game that should be free with microtransactions similar to Fortnite. Expand
  71. Nov 19, 2018
    0
    Do you want to experience Fallout 4 but with an early access feel and still pay a AAA price for it? then boy is this game for you! 10/10 bamboozled, Minecraft has higher res textures
  72. Nov 16, 2018
    1
    To expect people to spend their hard-earned money on this is an attack on common sense. Let us be responsible for our actions, let us punish with our purchase decision and with low scores those developers who want to enrich themselves with million-dollar advertising campaigns and products of dismal quality.
  73. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Horrible game. There's really no actual PVP just an odd duel-system that punishes you if you kill someone. Not push-to-talk. Bad FPS even though I have a high performance PC. If they made this map into a single player game i'd keep it, thankfully I got a refund.
  74. Nov 14, 2018
    3
    This review will, hopefully, help you to understand what's actually happening.
    It,s indeed pretty much true that some of "0" reviews may be posted by people who didn't even play the game. But, there is one "but"...
    The true darkness is on the other side. Take a look on several random profiles that gave "10" to this game. Almost like 90% of them have only 1 review (for FO76) and profile
    This review will, hopefully, help you to understand what's actually happening.
    It,s indeed pretty much true that some of "0" reviews may be posted by people who didn't even play the game. But, there is one "but"...

    The true darkness is on the other side. Take a look on several random profiles that gave "10" to this game. Almost like 90% of them have only 1 review (for FO76) and profile names like "superplayer1984". In their reviews, there're writing everything via one of two copypastas: 1) describing all the game features were named by bethesda in trailers (some of which simply even don't exist) and literally telling everything is working perfectly. 2) callin everyone who left a bad review a hater who never played the game.

    The second part is as you all know, Bethesda initially released game only on Beth.net - not on Steam, GOG etc. Why? Yes, eaxactly. You can't leave a review there. At least, so easily. Question is - what is it like?

    Yes, we all know (especially those who are reading political news) how it looks. Bethesda (I'm not saying directly Pete Hines, obviously not, but through the hands of sub-companies, "family" bloggers and "friendly" game journalists) is litereally using the bots to leave positive reviews and leaving 10 points to at least somehow save catastrophic ratings of the game. Almost all accounts that made 10/10 FO76 reviews were made not by real players behind them, but by certain people, for only one goal - try to save the game ratings on the platform they can't affect directly.

    Don't get me wrong. Bethesda was and today still [IS] my favourite game company. But the abyss they are making between themselves and community, how they allow marketing stuff to rule the PR company and game development itself, and how obviously they are trying to hide any possible negative critics about the game - it's really, really sad.

    I'm neither FO 76 fan or hater. I just don't care about it - I won't play it and wait for Starfield and TES VI.
    Though, I played more than 20 hours on my friend gaming PC to not let myself make a prejudged review.
    I also wish every player who bought it to have the best possible time in it.
    Fallout 76 is not a "zero" game. But it's a very, very bad game. Extremely outdated engine. Terrible performance. Awful cheating/hacking protection. But what if most important, it's a soulless game which has even less to have at least something in commong with FO series than FO4 had. It's empty, repeative and just boring.
    I won't give "0" to this game. But I'll give as maximum as "3" because this is what FO76 deserves.
    Expand
  75. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Besides the fact that its not a fallout game it is just an overall bad PC Port.
    No 21:9 support for a so called AAA game in 2018? No FOV change? ...
    Clearly they dont care about PC at all so don't make the same mistake I did and just don't buy it.

    Any bets on how long it takes them to sell the cards in the shop?

    I really wanted it to be good.
  76. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Can't believe people still give Bethesda a free pass for their glitchy games. If any other company did it people would cry about how they don't care about their customers. But if Bethesda does it it's ok because reasons. Fact is they're a business, they release glitchy garbage b/c they know you will buy it, and you deserve better. You deserve a company that respects you as much as youCan't believe people still give Bethesda a free pass for their glitchy games. If any other company did it people would cry about how they don't care about their customers. But if Bethesda does it it's ok because reasons. Fact is they're a business, they release glitchy garbage b/c they know you will buy it, and you deserve better. You deserve a company that respects you as much as you deserve. Stop buying Bethesda junk. Expand
  77. Nov 22, 2018
    0
    FO 76 is just Bethesda's way of eliminating the ability to mod and coercing players to pay for micro-transactions. Fallout has always shined as an example of a single player sandbox/RPG, known for it's clever dialogue in the early days and then known for it's ability to be modded into anything that fans can imagine, Fallout 76 is a departure from everything that made Fallout fans have comeFO 76 is just Bethesda's way of eliminating the ability to mod and coercing players to pay for micro-transactions. Fallout has always shined as an example of a single player sandbox/RPG, known for it's clever dialogue in the early days and then known for it's ability to be modded into anything that fans can imagine, Fallout 76 is a departure from everything that made Fallout fans have come to love. It is obviously for the sake of pushing micro transactions.
    The game was intentionally not released on steam so that gamers who regret preordering/purchasing it wouldn't be able to get a refund. On top of that, the game is a buggy mess, with outdated graphics, horrible optimization and a forced 60 FPS frame limit. Bethesda has really gone down hill.
    Expand
  78. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    When it was announced I hated it for being multiplayer only, and with any new information it really sounded worse and worse. In the meantime B.E.T.A. (Early access) started, and I was "lucky" enough to get my self a beta key, even tho I hated the concept I still wanted to give it a chance. I played during two beta dates, about 4 hours each.
    Oh boy, where to start...
    1. Lack of any
    When it was announced I hated it for being multiplayer only, and with any new information it really sounded worse and worse. In the meantime B.E.T.A. (Early access) started, and I was "lucky" enough to get my self a beta key, even tho I hated the concept I still wanted to give it a chance. I played during two beta dates, about 4 hours each.
    Oh boy, where to start...
    1. Lack of any Graphical option is disturbing, and the graphics in many cases look very dated.
    2. It is a Bethesda game which means it is full of bugs, that is a problem in single player games let alone multiplayer.
    3. The quests are very boring as you need to stand and listen to holotapes for minutes. After a few hours I was already sick of having to stop in place to listen to one holotape just so I could pick up the next one. I guess it must a blast to play with a friend and having to mute/hush them every time you pick up a holotape.
    4. You have to wait until people finish with crafting stations before you can use them, and that can be a long time, again more waiting. I am guessing it is the same with terminals, tho I am not sure.
    5. There is no text chat in game (?!), and the mics are always on which means you will hear people eating, breathing, peoples pets, family members yelling... Which can also "help" you not hear a holotape you have been listening to for some time, so you have to start over.
    6. Running into people is rarely fun (the most prominent reasons being already mentioned above), the PVP is also butchered.
    7. The world is empty and dead of any life, tho it does look pretty even with very dated graphics.
    8. Events are also very boring from my experience, go there kill this, enemies come in waves. Just very repetitive and not fun at all.
    9. The point of the whole game is just to farm and grind, which isn't that much of a problem in itself, the problem is made clear that there is really no incentive to do so
    10. While I didn't level up much, the question still stands, what is the end game? Just more farming and grinding without any meaningful rewards ?

    Oh and the game isn't on steam and you have to use their horrible Bethesda launcher, that I installed when it first came out and deleted it after 10 mins, not much improvements since then.

    Overall a horrible game in my opinion, not the Fallout I love, and I even enjoyed (modded) Fallout 4. Don't listen to those that just **** on the game with nothing else to add as to why, but also don't listen to those who just praise it without giving their reasons.
    Expand
  79. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    The game is a waste of time. Full of bugs and robots without a story or enjoyable characters. Even if you can form a team it is still messy to play. Graphics are old and lighting is weird. I think this was an experiment of Bethesda on if they could sell the worst game with right marketing tactics. Another Dawn of War 3 case at best.
  80. Nov 16, 2018
    1
    One cannot ignore Bethesda's ineptitude when they keep flaunting them in our faces. Pathetic...
  81. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    This is the worst fallout experience I have ever had, absolutely soulless and a complete cash grab. Terrible...
  82. Nov 16, 2018
    1
    This is very unfortunate that bethesda is trying to kill this franchise. This company does not care about its customers and sells "modification"for F4 for full price.
    I lost my hope in fallout and not interested anymore.
  83. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Да это издевательство просто. Вывалить 2000 р. за сырой кусок г*вна. Квесты не пашут, гребаный блюр не вырубается. В добавок ко всему из игры выкидывает каждые минут 40-60. Я такого убожества не видал даже на пре-альфа тестах самых говеных игр, а тут фолаут на те. Я уже молчу про то что это и не фолл нихренаДа это издевательство просто. Вывалить 2000 р. за сырой кусок г*вна. Квесты не пашут, гребаный блюр не вырубается. В добавок ко всему из игры выкидывает каждые минут 40-60. Я такого убожества не видал даже на пре-альфа тестах самых говеных игр, а тут фолаут на те. Я уже молчу про то что это и не фолл нихрена
  84. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    I dont know where to begin.Its like game from 2009 .Horrible engine,outdated graphics,clunky animations,no human NPCs, boring,full of bugs. Only good thing is music/sound. Complete garbage!
  85. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    I love fallout games! But this is a absolute trainwreck of a mess that misses all the good things about fallout, tacks on a shoddy multiplayer AT BEST and is a blatant cash cow. Avoid.
  86. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    I didn't think this franchise would sink any lower after playing Fallout 4, but when i turned this game on and played for a few hours i realised i couldn't be more wrong.
  87. Nov 26, 2018
    0
    Yikes... Bethesda what the hell happened here.

    The GUI - While it was an obvious port from controller, in previous Fallout's it was still manageable but in Fallout 76 it's a mess and absolutely frustrating experience. (especially when building...) The graphics - The FOV is incredible small, they could of increased this slightly, i get they need all the extra FPS they need (especially
    Yikes... Bethesda what the hell happened here.

    The GUI - While it was an obvious port from controller, in previous Fallout's it was still manageable but in Fallout 76 it's a mess and absolutely frustrating experience. (especially when building...)

    The graphics - The FOV is incredible small, they could of increased this slightly, i get they need all the extra FPS they need (especially for consoles) but that's kind of ridiculous.

    Gaussian blur everywhere, you'd think your character requires prescription glasses or something...

    VOIP - Mic is active during character creation screen... so you can hear everyone raging at the GUI while in their character creating screen. (one player was scream F&%%%$$$k while smashing his keys)

    The game also uses holotapes/robots instead of human NPC's to deliver the story... and they are boring as hell, it reminds me a lot of the questing in world of warcraft back in 2006.

    The micro transactions are working though.... but you'll have to farm for hours if you want a cap, or pay 5$ of real world currency.

    What a mess... It's as if they handed you a hungry man meal and told you eat that in the busiest cafeteria... cold, no microwave.

    Meanwhile, New Vegas was the fillet minion we all yearn for and wanted more of... (maybe with coop options)
    Expand
  88. Nov 14, 2018
    1
    Looks worse than Fallout 4, no NPC's just a mindless chase after dead bodies and holotapes, base building is a wonkier than ever and multiplayer is a joke. Not to mention it feels like an early beta, not a finished game. This isnt Fallout, this is ****
  89. Nov 14, 2018
    3
    In all seriousness? No, you're not missing out anything by playing this. Just because the gunplay was improved doesn't make it good. It's actually mediocre, just like FO4, which is another thing that I don't like about this game, it's just FO4 multiplayer, the difference being a different map, removal of a great amount of NPCs and having other players to play with.
    The game is also very
    In all seriousness? No, you're not missing out anything by playing this. Just because the gunplay was improved doesn't make it good. It's actually mediocre, just like FO4, which is another thing that I don't like about this game, it's just FO4 multiplayer, the difference being a different map, removal of a great amount of NPCs and having other players to play with.
    The game is also very prone to hacking. Mods won't come unitl next year, but people can modify the. ini files of the game just like FO4, and alolws them to change stuff like lockpicking being easier and god knows what they might come up with next. A quick look at the game's anti cheat system reveals it's just a joke: https://imgur.com/eIOcWOA
    Even while there's definitely a lot to explore, the fact that the game feels empty makes discovering stuff barely exciting, and reading or hearing stuff is just tedious as it makes just want to finish already, after all the mission objective updates itself. You no longer discover stuff that can affect the people around you, all because they are already dead, and all you have to do is launching nukes and boom, that's all.
    If you honestly want an online game where exploring is better, you can play minecraft instead. I know it might sound as a joke but the game is actually fun, and has a great replayability.
    Expand
  90. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    Just a very lazy rehashing of previous IP to make a fast buck. Fallout 4 was pretty bad and this is just Bethesda cashing out on the last of the value this game has. This franchise had it's glory days and it's over.
  91. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Yeah, it's still kind of fun and now you can at least laugh at the bugs with 3 of your friends, but however you want to sugarcoat this game, you can't argue that this is a huge downgrade in terms of quality compared to anything Bethesda has done before.

    Yes, it has a huge map and crafting is back with more options and the gameplay loop is still passable as "somewhat fun", but we've lost
    Yeah, it's still kind of fun and now you can at least laugh at the bugs with 3 of your friends, but however you want to sugarcoat this game, you can't argue that this is a huge downgrade in terms of quality compared to anything Bethesda has done before.

    Yes, it has a huge map and crafting is back with more options and the gameplay loop is still passable as "somewhat fun", but we've lost NPCs, engaging story quests, most of the narrative, not to mention the trainwreck that's the SPECIAL system right now and at the end of the day, this game is a huge sandbox that, in all its vastness, ultimately feels empty. Bethesda has removed a lot of things compared to FO4, but forgot that if you take away from the game, you're supposed to put something in instead.

    Additionally, we still have the same friggin problems we had with FO4, but this time, modders won't be able to fix these for at least a year. No FOV slider, FPS lock on PC, weird glitches, objects and enemies stuck in the terrain, MY CHARACTER stuck in the terrain, missin push-to-talk option, disappearing and t-posing enemies... the list just goes on and on... Hell there are even bugs that Bethesda supposedly "fixed" during the beta, but here they are in the final release.

    Microtransactions are the final nail for me. Yes, you can earn everything by playing but just the existence of MTX in this game makes my blood boil. It makes it seem like this game went for profits and profits only. At least the cash shop works perfectly, am I right boys? It just adds insult to injury.

    Bethesda really needs to get its crap together if they want me to put money down for their products ever again.
    Expand
  92. Nov 16, 2018
    1
    $60 for a VERY buggy EARLY ACCESS game that keeps disconnecting. It's not a "Fallout" anymore it just has the Fallout-ish setting with a terrible shooting model.
  93. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Nothing will help this game, everything is very bad. The series for me finally died.
  94. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    If there ever was a game deserving of the score 0 then it would be this one. There is absolutely nothing redeeming about this game, at this point I'm scourging my mind for anything that would be even remotely good about it and the only thing I can think of would be the enjoyment you get from playing with friends but this goes more to the credit of said friends and interaction with othersIf there ever was a game deserving of the score 0 then it would be this one. There is absolutely nothing redeeming about this game, at this point I'm scourging my mind for anything that would be even remotely good about it and the only thing I can think of would be the enjoyment you get from playing with friends but this goes more to the credit of said friends and interaction with others online than having anything to do with the game itself.

    It uses the same engine as the previous game Fallout 4 which was quite dated at it's time of release dating all the way back to Morrowind and having received the last major update during Skyrim in 2011. To make matters worse it is largely using the same assets from Fallout 4 too that includes guns, armor, textures, objects and much much more. Making it overall feel like some sort of DLC for Fallout 4. But it isn't, it is a full fledged "AAA release" at a price of $59.99 or your regional equivalent. Making it pretty much unacceptable to be in such state.

    By that I mean the sheer amount of bugs we saw during very late "beta" which in truth is a lot closer to a demo of the final release as I was able to see. Some off these bugs are classical glitches that occur with use of such outdated engines, but others are a lot more serious like security flaws which allow client side access to sensitive data like IP addresses of other people, and game manipulation trough unencrypted commands sent to the server. This is worsened by the fact that the game lacks any sort of anti-cheat.

    Another, rather ironic bug, was the game deleting itself randomly requiring you to re-download more than 50 GB of data, only to find out that it's also impossible to manually uninstall the game without purchasing it after the beta ran out.

    The final product doesn't look any better though featuring outdated graphics, horrible performance on PC and especially on console. And severe lack of content, meaning no NPC quest givers, or any NPCs whatsoever, with most of the quests being fueled by holo-tapes and being rather simplistic fetch quests. Downgraded character development, even more downgraded than in Fallout 4, with most of the
    "leveling" happening trough opening "perk packs" which give you a set of randomized perks, possibly a gateway for micro-transactions or even Pay2Win mechanics in the future. Mostly the same "building mechanics" we saw in Fallout 4, with the same inherent flaws that could only be fixed by mods, mostly clipping, and objects having no sense of gravity. And very dull, repetitive enemies, which re-spawn quickly, sometimes even right after being killed.

    The PVP experience is also very lackluster, having some "fair play" system in place that makes players take significantly less damage until they shoot back, making it pointless to even engage in PVP as everyone can out-heal the damage done to them. Or should they decide to fight back they can do so with a big warning and call to prepare, which makes anything outside co-op a non option.

    Definitely not recommended
    Expand
  95. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Boring and BUG Simulator...
    Go to reedit and pum
    No Man's Sky 2 or something like that
  96. Nov 14, 2018
    3
    I've played every Bethesda game and every Fallout game.

    After 30 hours of game play I can say this game isn't worth sixty dollars. The story is limited to notes and recordings in a medium that's "Let the player do" instead of "Tell them what happen", normally that kind of story telling is an optional addition to the games experience. Fallout 76 and Fallout 4 both have lore that
    I've played every Bethesda game and every Fallout game.

    After 30 hours of game play I can say this game isn't worth sixty dollars.

    The story is limited to notes and recordings in a medium that's "Let the player do" instead of "Tell them what happen", normally that kind of story telling is an optional addition to the games experience.

    Fallout 76 and Fallout 4 both have lore that goes against established cannon, retconning those previous games is disrespectful to the writers and developers of past games.

    The PC edition launched without a number options typically found in sixty dollar triple A titles. From the options menu you cannot, turn off depth of field, bloom, god rays, bloom, change the Anti Aliasing settings, or set an ultra wide screen resolution. The strange thing is the game does support all those settings if you change them from the configuration files. However the normal user would have a difficult time figuring out how to go about that process. Bethesda omitted those options from the game for seemingly no reason.

    After exploring the map, the size of which is one of the games few positives, the gameplay would consist of mostly building your camp and controlling public workshops. The building mode in the game while aggravating at times does work and is improved slightly from Fallout 4.

    Other players from my experience will have voice chat turned off and will ignore you after a wave. After twenty hours of leaving my microphone on in hopes that I would make a lasting connection with someone I decided to turn it off so I could listen to an audio book without having to worry about others at all.

    All of the good things in Fallout 76 can be better found in Fallout 4, and basically this game is Fallout 4 striped of it's substantial story elements and combined with the restrictions of a multiplayer game.
    Expand
  97. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    We could expect a similar failure from a small indie studio that is still (unsuccessfully) looking for its niche, but not from a major player in the video game industry.
    Nevertheless, in 2018, Bethesda releases a low-grade sandbox without the slightest hint of content or gameplay, naively believing that hundreds of people sticking around without any goal or purpose can make the game
    We could expect a similar failure from a small indie studio that is still (unsuccessfully) looking for its niche, but not from a major player in the video game industry.
    Nevertheless, in 2018, Bethesda releases a low-grade sandbox without the slightest hint of content or gameplay, naively believing that hundreds of people sticking around without any goal or purpose can make the game “interesting” and “exciting”.
    This is certainly not the case.
    The game world is not felt alive at all, the mediocre graphics and unintelligible game design solutions make the Fallout 76 the main disappointment of the year.
    Expand
  98. Nov 14, 2018
    1
    No soul and feels like a bad Fallout 4 multiplayer mod more than a new game. I am very disappointed.
  99. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    Easily the worst fallout experience on pc ever. The only achievement this game gets is its only the 2nd worse fallout game ever made. That honor still goes to the super nintendo one. Avoid at all costs.
  100. Nov 20, 2018
    0
    Bethestda just want to capitalize fanbase, same as Activision with DIablo Immortal. Yes they can make some money with minimal work, but in long term they are kiling great universe.
    Well deserve 0 score.
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 40
  2. Negative: 10 out of 40
  1. Dec 11, 2018
    92
    If you are more of a single player gamer like me, don’t let the online nature of Fallout 76 put you off… it’s eminently playable as a single player experience. If you are put off by the issues mentioned at the start then maybe steer clear (or at least wait to see if patches address your concerns), otherwise I’d say grab the Deathclaw by the horns and jump in (but maybe wait till you have powerarmour to do that.).
  2. Edge Magazine
    Dec 6, 2018
    40
    The reality, inevitably, is that you want Fallout 76 to play like a Fallout game, and on those terms it fails to satisfy. After all, how could you not want that from it? [Jan 2019, p.110]
  3. Dec 3, 2018
    20
    Fallout 76 is a game where you keep hoping that things will get better if you stay patient and play just a bit further. Such a moment never arrives, and with more time, it only becomes more obvious just how broken it is. When something goes wrong, you're not quite clear if it's your fault or the game's because of how many issues you run into. Any game releasing in this state is unacceptable, but the problems go well beyond the technical ones. When this hollow game is not actively breaking, it feels as though it's barely hanging onto a concept that doesn't seem in any way remarkable even in the best circumstances.