Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Mar 4, 2019
    80
    If you're looking for a colourful VR puzzler in the same vein as Portal then you can't do much better than ChromaGun VR.
  2. 80
    ChromaGun is fun, very immersive and tactile, especially when using the Aim controller. The tracking is great and puzzle design is creative. Despite the sound design getting repetitive and the plain aesthetic wearing thin, overall I enjoyed my time with this neat little puzzler.
  3. 70
    ChromaGun VR is a competent and solid puzzle game but some may find it to be a little lacking in variety and excitement and the VR makeover doesn't really justify the additional purchase if you own the original.
  4. Feb 25, 2019
    70
    All things said and done, ChromaGun is a solid game with decent puzzle elements. It has it’s flaws but all things said and done is nicely enough executed. It certainly is worth the play for the puzzles alone.
  5. 70
    ChromaGun VR is a funny, occasionally challenging first-person puzzler, and one that is enhanced in VR.
  6. Mar 5, 2019
    65
    ChromaGun VR doesn’t do much to improve on 2015’s puzzle shooter, and the game takes a hit both visually and in performance in its attempt. The mechanics work fine, but bland repetition of puzzle elements only hit a few primary colors rather than the rainbow of features to keep this an engaging experience all the way through. If you haven’t played ChromaGun yet, this may be the way to experience it, but otherwise, you’re fine with sticking to the original version.
  7. Feb 21, 2019
    65
    Originally released in 2015 for PC, Mac and Linux before eventually making its way onto consoles, ChromaGun was initially both hailed and mocked for (lightly) scratching gamers’ itches for a new Portal-like in the absence of Portal 3. Following its long-awaited VR port, ChromaGun VR is definitely not up to the bar set by the Portal series, but its puzzles are satisfying nonetheless.
  8. Feb 27, 2019
    60
    Chromagun VR is an integral VR port of the original game which came out a few years ago. Clearly a take on the Valve's successful Portal series, Chromagun manages to fully stand on its own two legs. Blending colors to solve puzzles is fun even though difficulty isn't balanced out very well as you progress. Although this certainly isn't a system seller, it's a decent game overall. It is merely ok, nothing more and nothing less.
  9. Feb 19, 2019
    60
    ChromaGun is a competent puzzler that's only firing on a few cylinders and not much has changed in the several years since its launch. If you haven't pulled the trigger yet and are an avid puzzle fan the VR-ification is the excuse you need, just don't expect a whole lot.
  10. Feb 20, 2019
    50
    The imaginative puzzles occasionally come close to replicating the genius of Portal but the bad jokes and repetitive gameplay make this a poor substitute for the real thing.
User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. Mar 6, 2019
    10
    azazlo best youtuber guy ever trust me, azazlo best youtuber guy ever trust me, azazlo best youtuber guy ever trust me
  2. Mar 6, 2019
    10
    azazlo best youtuber guy ever trust me, azazlo best youtuber guy ever trust me, azazlo best youtuber guy ever trust me
  3. Mar 6, 2019
    10
    azazlo best youtuber guy ever trust me, azazlo best youtuber guy ever trust me, azazlo best youtuber guy ever trust me