Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
Buy On
  1. Feb 22, 2019
    93
    In sum, Metro Exodus takes the best elements of 2033 and Last Light and adds a major evolutionary component with open world exploration and crafting. A potent balance is struck between the claustrophobic atmospheres of previous games alongside the new design of expansive open world areas. The blend of full-on action with stealth and survival horror is nicely done as well. I found Metro Exodus to be a more engaging and hard-to-point down experience than I anticipated, and whether you have played the series before or not, Exodus is well worth checking out.
  2. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    Moving out of the subterranean world of the first two Metro games, Exodus preserves the tense, stealth shooter vibe while opening up into a vastly more varied and interesting series of environments. Even on its normal difficulty setting, Metro Exodus is a challenging and often unforgiving shooter, requiring careful planning and situational awareness. Although it would benefit from a ruthless editor’s pen and fewer wooden characters, Metro Exodus has found a great balance between linear and more open-world game play.
  3. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    Metro Exodus is an excellent story-based shooter, which combines survival skills, exploration, stealth and combat. We love the post apocalyptic setting, based on the Metro novels by Dmitry Glukhovsky, and some open world elements.
  4. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    One of the best titles that we will see at least in this first half of the year.
  5. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    The best post-apocalyptic survival game of the generation, that innovates in terms of both its varied gameplay mechanics and its incisive storytelling.
  6. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    Metro: Exodus is a post-apocalyptic masterpiece, more than worth your money and time. It's great on every level, from its beautiful graphics and expert audio design to its intriguing characters and absorbing world. Shame the story ends kind of abruptly though... But hey, you can't have everything. Must play.
  7. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    Metro Exodus provides an immersive FPS experience that marks a new milestone for the franchise. Its survival-horror, sandbox and shooter elements are remarkably well balanced, constituting an engaging and thrilling game that’ll leave you no stranger to a good jump scare. The once linear horror franchise has been reformed, introducing expansive environments to indulge in without derailing the narrative. Metro Exodus is a must play.
  8. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 12, 2019
    90
    The inclusion of new sandbox maps, accessible crafting, and beautiful as well as genuinely horrific moments, ensures Metro Exodus keeps the series on track. [Issue#159, p.77]
  9. Mar 3, 2019
    85
    The game lost a bit of its original atmosphere by switching to a semi-open world gameplay style, but it gained so much more, making it an early contender for a game of the year award.
  10. Feb 17, 2019
    85
    Metro Exodus strikes a great balance between its open nature and linear design. it is a story-driven shooter at heart, but a modern one which has a lot of value and content to offer.
  11. Feb 13, 2019
    85
    It's easy to perceive that Metro Exodus is the evolution of the two previous 4A games. The open spaces, the good narrative and the mix of shooter, crafting and stealth get an adventure that could be better with a more coherent enemy AI and more technical stability. If this is your first video game in the Metro series, you will be surprised. If you're a Metro fan, you will be too.
  12. Feb 13, 2019
    85
    Metro Exodus takes the fear-inducing formula of the series and transplants it into expansive, sandbox-like levels without losing any of the oppressive tension that makes the Metro games memorable and distinctive among post-apocalyptic first-person shooters. It’s a frequently exhilarating and densely atmospheric journey across a Russian dystopia brimming with detail and deadly inhabitants, and well worth the trip for its consistently effective use of survival horror and hair-raising action.
  13. 85
    Metro Exodus is an amazing and beautiful game that offers a new style and experience from 2033 and Last Light. With polished visuals and an amazing soundtrack, the changes 4A Games have implemented create awesome environments and enjoyable gameplay, taking you across various landscapes of Europe. However, in doing so, the survival horror and dark, claustrophobic tone have almost entirely been left behind at the station.
  14. Feb 16, 2019
    83
    A game that could have easily felt like the final part of a trilogy now feels like the start of something more, and has laid the groundwork for potential Metro games to come.
  15. Metro Exodus takes the franchise to next level. Storytelling in general is good. However, without side quests, the game loses its excitement. If you are a fan of the Metro series, you should play the game without hesitation.
  16. Feb 28, 2019
    80
    Metro: Exodus is a journey worth taking, and the destination’s worthwhile as well. In this day and age, it’s fantastic to see some developers have the guts to strive for a solid single-player experience that isn’t afraid to try and tell a story of bitter survival in post apocalyptic Russia while also allowing players to absorb the exceptionally detailed world around them and occasionally blow the heads off ravenous mutoids. That’s worth celebrating, I think.
  17. Feb 16, 2019
    80
    Boasting solid gameplay and one of the most compelling stories I’ve played in recent times, Metro Exodus’ shift to the striking Russian landscape is not only a worthy successor to the previous entries, but one of the best shooters on the PS4 today.
  18. 80
    Metro Exodus is an entertaining post-apocalyptic shooter that isn’t afraid to take chances with the series’ formula.
  19. Feb 15, 2019
    80
    Metro Exodus seems very different from its predecessors because of its open world, but it's at its best when you crawl through small alleys. That claustrophobic feeling is amazing, though it would have been even more realistic had the voice acting and the story been better.
  20. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    I have some issues with Metro: Exodus. The larger story is completely off the wall ludicrous and makes everything that came before feel completely invalid. If I had been forced to live in a hole for 20 years, fight monsters and Nazis, and I was all a lie, I’m certainly not letting the people lying about it on my freedom train, much less call any shots. The smaller, more personal stories, however, often hit a little closer to home, and make life just a bit more interesting.
  21. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    As Metro broadens its horizons, it loses some of the series' focus. But Exodus makes up for it with thrilling encounters and a crew you'll want to follow to the ends of the earth.
  22. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    For the most part, though, Artyom’s train journey is a compelling one. The characters you share it with can be overly loquacious and too broadly drawn, but its sense of camaraderie in the face of hardship can’t help but endear to the bittersweet end...But it is at its best tends to be when you are on your own, exploring a beautifully drawn post-nuclear wilderness or creeping through the dark, lighter in hand. That Metro Exodus can do both with equally aplomb is arguably its greatest strength.
  23. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    It still has some of the technical issues we’ve seen from 4A Games before, but Metro Exodus stands as a terrific post-apocalyptic shooter that expands on the series’ customization options and environments without ignoring its survival roots. 4A Games remains committed to turning author Dmitry Glukhovsky’s stories into (barely) living and breathing worlds, offering brief glimpses of hope in an otherwise depressing and occasionally nihilistic tale. Exodus establishes Metro as one of the great narrative-focused shooters, and it proves that exciting action doesn’t have to come at detriment to story.
  24. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Metro Exodus is rough and raw, but at the same time it's atmospheric, tensive and extremely thrilling. If you have no problem with some technical let-downs and weak voice acting, you will have a blast.
  25. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Aside from some technical issues and a somewhat predicable story, Metro Exodus is a fun FPS with beautiful locations, lovable characters and a decent ending to Artyom's story.
  26. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    The survival horror tropes, linear moments, and emphasis on atmosphere haven't been lost, but Exodus proves that Metro can be much more than a journey through dark and decaying tunnels.
  27. Feb 14, 2019
    75
    After two game spent in the tunnels of the Metro, Metro Exodus brings us to the semi-open world of mainland Russia and does away with the traditional linearity, at the expense of a drop in the overall rhythm. And don't worry, the game is still a graphics benchmark.
  28. Feb 13, 2019
    75
    Metro Exodus feels like a solid simulacrum of someone else trying to make a Fallout game, for all the benefits and drawbacks that entails. Its maps are fun to explore, and effort has been put into making the side areas rewarding in both narrative expansion and bonus upgrades to your gear. That said, Exodus doesn’t have the same handle on ambient storytelling and visual interest to drive you to investigate every corner of the map.
  29. Feb 13, 2019
    75
    Metro Exodus isn’t the perfect game we wish we had. With a poor AI, some technical issues and it also has some controler issues on PS4 and Xbox One. But the game is beautiful, well-paced and offers many memorable moments.
  30. Feb 13, 2019
    70
    Metro Exodus‘s gorgeous visuals are somewhat undermined by the NPC clipping issues and texture pop-in, and one has to wonder if those issues would have been ironed out had the game spent some more time in the oven. But even though its technical issues, lack of genuine horror, and bland cast make it fall short of its predecessors, Metro Exodus is still a decent mix of the franchise’s traditional stealth/shooter gameplay and a semi-open world environment.
  31. Feb 13, 2019
    70
    Metro Exodus is a solid conclusion for a cult series that made its name in rough charm. The open world and stealth systems of the conclusion to the trilogy are largely missteps, but it’s when Metro Exodus returns to its horrific roots, with a bunch of caring comrades, that the game fires on all cylinders.
  32. Feb 13, 2019
    70
    These thrills and chills are irritatingly tempered with menial tasks, poor voice acting, dull stealth and a soulless hero, all of which prevent Metro Exodus from achieving its true potential.
  33. Feb 13, 2019
    70
    The journey of Metro Exodus is more rollercoaster than train ride, with peaks and troughs rather than a steady level of quality throughout. Its technical issues make the product feel rushed, but these are worth suffering for a series that’s ultimately heading down the right track.
  34. Feb 13, 2019
    68
    The quality of this Russian odyssey is as inconsistent and varied as its climatic zones. But despite all its flaws and weak AI it still manages to create a solid post-apocalyptic action experience.
  35. Feb 16, 2019
    60
    Metro: Exodus ultimately seems less interested in the process of how humanity breaks down than its grisly end results.
  36. Feb 14, 2019
    60
    Metro Exodus has the potential to be a solid game, but it just isn’t there in its current state. Those on the fence best wait for a few patches before picking this one up.
  37. Feb 13, 2019
    60
    While Metro: Exodus delivers on its promise of deep and meaningful combat situations that let you approach encounters from any angle you can think of, its technical shortcomings are simply unforgivable. Combine that with a plot that doesn’t answer its most intriguing questions and you’ve got an experience that will please at times, but will also disappoint those looking for something meaningful outside of the distribution of bullets.
  38. 60
    While Metro Exodus doesn’t do anything wrong as a blockbuster shooter, where the original titles were original and refreshing, Exodus is yet another in a ever-deepening pile, and the Metro franchise deserved better than to be exhausting.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 13, 2019
    We need more experiences like Metro Exodus that know how to resist empty bloodshed and kindle such closeness, finding the warmth in the wasteland. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. Feb 13, 2019
    In a departure from the last two games of the series, Metro Exodus sends players into the great outdoors of post-apocalyptic Russia where, unfortunately, the formula that worked for the last two games falls apart...If only Metro Exodus had a little more Metro and a little less Exodus.
  3. Feb 13, 2019
    I expected more polish this time around and, so far at least, I feel a little let down. The game looks salvageable, and I expect it to perk up after a few patches. But, because of the bugs, even die-hard fans may want to wait for a while before they commit the time to get stuck in. [Pre-review based on 10 hours]
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 677 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Feb 15, 2019
    10
    great game and it deserve 9 at least not 8!!!!!!
    high graphic
    best story telling
    heavy shooting
    its must buy game
  2. Feb 15, 2019
    2
    Insane deadzone in Metro Exodus PS4 controls
    I love metro games, i was enjoying a lot previous metro games on ps4, but in metro exodus
    Insane deadzone in Metro Exodus PS4 controls
    I love metro games, i was enjoying a lot previous metro games on ps4, but in metro exodus sensitivity is horrible, it makes it unplayable and only thing i feel is frustration. Developers, please, fix it, sensitivity in your game... Its just a totally mess.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 15, 2019
    1
    Someone told me that I'm in for a treat when he heard I was about to jump into Metro Exodus. I'm hearing left and right how great this game'sSomeone told me that I'm in for a treat when he heard I was about to jump into Metro Exodus. I'm hearing left and right how great this game's story is, but sadly I'll never reach that far. Just about an hour into the game and I want to sleep. The voice acting is TERRIBLE.. **** terrible I tell you. I kept searching for a way to turn it into Russian with English subs, but I couldn't... Only Russian subs. I also hate the fact that I have to hold down Square so many times... Hold square to climb, hold square to prone, hold quare to open the door, hold square to move through a tight wall. God damn man, this is just boring overall and I'm saying this as someone who spends at least 50-60hours average on games because I also collect trophies. This is the second time I ditch a game so fast in this gen (RDR2 was the first).

    P.S. Not impressed with the framerate either.. This is no way a stable 30fps and the motion blur is just tragic..
    Full Review »