Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
Buy On
  1. Feb 15, 2019
    100
    I can recommend Steins;Gate Elite to anyone who wants to experience a fantastic visual novel with multiple endings. I cannot, however recommend this if you are hoping for full interaction or solid gameplay because there really isn’t anything like that here. Outside of a few button presses here and there, there is no game to be played. I am not usually a fan of visual novels, but I didn’t feel bored with this one. Check this one out if you love science fiction stories that captivate.
  2. 100
    Steins;Gate Elite is not only the perfect visual novel improved, but it's also a shining example of what the top tier of visual novels should look like.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Mar 14, 2019
    90
    Each ending is radically different, and there are even two extra ones when you’ve finished the main game which have never been available before in the UK. Fans will love the extra TLC in for this enhanced version of the very static original, and newcomers will experience a visual novel like never before – an anime that is very much yours, and an unforgettable time travel thriller to boot. [Issue#160, p.89]
  4. Mar 6, 2019
    90
    Evaluating the worth of a remake can be difficult, as it’s often unclear how to weigh its strength and weaknesses in comparison to the original. This bodes doubly true when it’s the remake of one of my favorite games of all time. While I have some contention in regards to the changes made to the main campaign, the additional stories are well worth the cost of admission by itself for fans, and even though I hesitate to call “Elite” the definitive way to experience the beauty of Steins;Gate, there is simply no bad way to experience such an exceptional story.
  5. Feb 20, 2019
    90
    This may not be the definitive way to experience the series, but it's damn sure the most accessible, and it beats the hell out of the neutered anime adaptation. For new fans, this is a fantastic entry point. For returning fans, Steins;Gate Elite is a solid reason to revisit a beloved series with a fresh set of eyes. I adored every second of it.
  6. 90
    It has all the charm of the anime, all the narrative excellence of the original, and a refinement that hasn’t existed in either up until this point.
  7. Feb 19, 2019
    90
    Steins;Gate Elite is a remake of the original game that uses videos taken from the anime version. The result is almost perfect, and improves the global comfort that you feel while playing the game. A must have in the visual novel genre.
  8. Feb 18, 2019
    90
    It’s surprising just what an impact the new animations have in Steins;Gate Elite -- the additions take an already excellent visual novel and makes it feel much more dynamic and intense. What's more, being able to finally play Linear Bounded Phenogram in English is just the icing on an already very scrumptious cake. Elite is the complete visual novel package, and pretty much the best that the genre has to offer.
  9. Feb 18, 2019
    90
    Steins;Gate Elite takes the best of the anime and visual novel source material to create a superb visual novel adventure experience that is a must play for newcomers to the genre and fans of the original visual novel.
  10. 90
    Easily one of the best visual novels available, Steins;Gate Elite is a stellar and beautifully framed retelling of its source material and one that is grandly suited to series newcomers and stalwarts alike.
  11. Oct 9, 2018
    90
    With anime sequences added to the original game, Steins;Gate Elite combines the best of the game and anime, making this the definitive way to experience a modern classic.
  12. Feb 13, 2019
    86
    Despite some small annoyances that are either confusing or intrusive to the overall immersion that Steins;Gate Elite provides, this was a genuinely fun and engaging experience. In fact, because of how graphically close it is to the anime and how intense and complex the narrative is, Steins;Gate Elite is smooth as butter from start to finish and captures the true meaning of a graphic novel come to life.
  13. Feb 27, 2019
    85
    The stories in this game are well written and they will keep you going because the character development is equally well done. Knowledge of the Steins;Gate universe is a must however if you want to fully understand what is going on here. If you've been a fan of Steins;Gate, you are in for a treat though.
  14. Mar 5, 2019
    83
    A product designed for old and new fans: fans of the original visual novel will find a refurbished title, both visually and in terms of content.
  15. 80
    Although Steins;Gate Elite has a tendency to get lost in the minutiae, this updated release is perhaps the best way to experience 5pb's kinetic visual novel.
  16. Feb 15, 2019
    80
    I wasn’t particularly fond of feeling like I was watching an anime without being able to take a break between each episode, but I’d have to be an idiot to not see that Steins;Gate Elite is still one of the best visual novels out there.
  17. Feb 12, 2019
    80
    Whether it’s your first time playing a game in the genre or not, Steins;Gate Elite is definitely one of the best visual novels available today. Just keep in mind that, while it may have taken a bit for the Phonewave (name subject to change) to heat the story up, the payoff is worth the wait.
  18. Feb 19, 2019
    75
    Steins;Gate has been re-released with new anime visuals that completely revitalize an already interesting storyline.
  19. Feb 27, 2019
    70
    Steins; Gate Elite is a great remake of a visual novel that has deeply marked its kind of medium and that all fans of the franchise should recover to live the story in a unique, even better way.
  20. 70
    A polished anime quality remake of a ten year old Xbox 360 game you should consider checking out.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 11 out of 38
  1. Feb 19, 2019
    10
    Awesome game ! Really captured the feeling of the classic and the anime as well ! The best visual novel on the ps4 right now !
  2. Feb 22, 2019
    10
    One of the best in the Visual Novel genre.
    I think the most important question is how you look at this genre as a whole. If you absolutely
    One of the best in the Visual Novel genre.
    I think the most important question is how you look at this genre as a whole. If you absolutely detest reading or simply do not recognize the genre as "video game" then this is obviously not the game for you.

    This is a replay for me, because I've played the original on Vita a few years back. While knowing the plot this time around did put a damper on some of the surprises and twists, it was still very enjoyable. I have watched the anime as well but it felt like they added more original animated scenes? Maybe it's just been too long.

    If you like Time Traveling stories, especially ones that seems to be a bit more grounded in reality (as real as a time travel story goes), give this one a try.
    Full Review »