Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 20, 2019
    90
    While the game is available on mobile devices and the Sony family of handhelds, I feel confident that the Switch is the definitive system to play this title on the go, especially since it allows you to seamlessly throw it up on the big screen at will. Whether you are a returning fan or someone new to Final Fantasy IX, this port is the best way to play a classic from a beloved RPG series.
  2. Feb 27, 2019
    90
    I never thought that I would ever have the chance to play Final Fantasy IX on a Nintendo console, and, with Nintendo Switch, Square Enix has perhaps found the perfect place to experience the genre classic. Complete with its twists and turns, you can chip away at this roughly 40-hour quest both at home and on the move, which I can only hope will allow more players the time needed to reach the game’s grand and, for some at least, tear-inducing conclusion.
  3. Feb 26, 2019
    83
    The sound and gameplay both hold up and there’s something cool about playing this on a Nintendo console after all the history shared between them and Sony. It’s also the same port we’ve seen with options to speed up the time spent in battles. So if it’s the first time you’re experiencing the game then you’re in for a treat and I’m glad to see it on the Switch, but at a current price just over $20 for those with other options you may want to wait for a sale.
  4. Apr 29, 2019
    80
    I think Final Fantasy IX proves that the middle road between a complete remake and simple emulation may be the best path to take to revive older games. Welcome features like autosave and optional cheats let players old and new experience the game on their terms. Final Fantasy IX is an amazing experience, with a fantastic cast and story — it’s truly a masterpiece of the PlayStation era. This upgrade means that fans don’t have to wait years to experience it again without all the pitfalls of the original.
  5. Mar 12, 2019
    80
    Final Fantasy IX is not the more serious-looking futuristic Final Fantasy like the two games before it. Instead, it is a lovely fantasy world which can be just as serious and deep, and more importantly, enjoyable. The addition of ‘boosters’ help make the game playable for those who don’t want to endlessly grind for experience and just want to enjoy the journey. This port isn’t without its problems, fortunately outside of the annoying load times into battle the rest are minor issues. For Final Fantasy fans, the port does more right than it does wrong. If you haven’t played FF IX yet, love a good turn based RPG and don’t mind older games, then there is no better place to play it than on the Switch.
  6. 80
    Although this is nothing more than a port of the inferior PC version, Final Fantasy IX feels great on the Switch and will introduce a whole new generation to the game's many charms.
  7. Feb 21, 2019
    80
    If you’re a fan of RPGs and somehow haven’t played Final Fantasy IX yet, it’s certainly worth a download for the privilege to play this classic on the go. On the other hand, if you’re just getting into RPGs, Final Fantasy IX may be a little too obtuse and archaic to recommend when compared to more modern releases. Whichever camp you may fall in, the bottom line is that, warts and all, Final Fantasy IX remains a great RPG to this day; you likely won’t regret picking this one up.
  8. Feb 18, 2019
    80
    We obviously would have liked a better portage than just a copy / paste from the mobile version but the game still has huge qualities as an heroic fantasy RPG and deserves to be known.
  9. Mar 7, 2019
    78
    Final Fantasy IX is a fantastic game with an average port. The price is steep for a 20 year old game with no major upgrades. But once you start playing you won't be able to put it down.
  10. Feb 21, 2019
    77
    It doesn’t matter which console you play it on: Final Fantasy IX still remains a timeless masterpiece, and thus we can only be glad to see its success on the Nintendo digital store. However, this Switch edition is basically the same that was published on PS4 and PC on last two years, so if you already own it on one of these two platforms, there is no real need to buy it again.
  11. Mar 10, 2019
    76
    Although it is a simple port, Final Fantasy IX for Nintendo Switch is a title recommended for its excellent story, its great gameplay and its sound section that borders on perfection.
  12. 75
    FFIX is reminiscent of a simpler time, boasting a strong narrative and quality of life features that make it easy to get into. I just wish it had a better presentation, one that a game of this quality truly deserves.
  13. Mar 27, 2019
    70
    Final Fantasy IX is an absolute must-buy and must-experience classic JRPG that deserved a home on a Nintendo console, and should have had one a long time ago. It starts off as the best and last proper throwback to older Final Fantasy titles of the late '80s and early '90s, but with all the enhancements that the technology of the day could afford, but also doesn't know whether to be Final Fantasy VII and VIII, or classic Final Fantasy towards the end, but overall, it is a magical experience to behold.
  14. Feb 22, 2019
    70
    This version is a lot more than the original ever was on the PSN, but it is a modified version. I’m just happy to have this game on the Switch, but I recognize that it’s far from a perfect port. If you can see past the minor flaws, Final Fantasy IX is an excellent investment on the Nintendo Switch.
  15. Feb 20, 2019
    70
    Almost 20 years later, Final Fantasy IX is still one of the best JRPGs ever made. Nevertheless, the Switch port still inherits the many flaws from the mobile, PC and PS4 versions.
  16. Feb 18, 2019
    70
    Eighteen years after its original release on PlayStation, Final Fantasy IX is back on Switch, but with all the flaws inherited from the PC/PS4 port of 2017. But in the end, its compressed soundtrack and smartphone interface will not make us forget the greatness of such an adventure, which could have benefit from a sweeter launch price.
  17. Apr 28, 2019
    60
    The quality of life improvements made can’t cover up the fact that this is a lazy port of a game that deserves better.
  18. Feb 27, 2019
    60
    Square Enix ports on Xbox One and Nintendo Switch a classic JRPG, released in 2000 on the first PlayStation. It does not add much to the original game: only better polygonal models of the characters and a better resolution in the cutscenes.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 44
  2. Negative: 8 out of 44
  1. Kvr
    Feb 14, 2019
    5
    I own this gem of a game on PS1, Steam, Android, PS4 but still I needed it on my switch, this is one of my favorite games of all time! LookI own this gem of a game on PS1, Steam, Android, PS4 but still I needed it on my switch, this is one of my favorite games of all time! Look everyone knows this is one of the best FF there is so I don't need to explain that here. But there is something wrong with this version, the sound quality is really compressed, so it doesn't sound good, there is no bass... and I feel that there are missing sound effects too. This is such a disappointment, with this game it needs to be as best as it can be, and with compressed sounds it is just not a good port. Didn't expect this, I paid 20 dollar again and what I got is a port with low quality sound...
    Lazy square enix.. I want my money back!
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 17, 2019
    6
    Degraded visuals and sound quality subpar compared to ps4 version as of February 17, 2019. I trust that the Nintendo Switch can handle betterDegraded visuals and sound quality subpar compared to ps4 version as of February 17, 2019. I trust that the Nintendo Switch can handle better sound and visual quality loads and look forward to a performance upgrade. The game is still enjoyable, particularly in handheld mode.

    Dear Nintendo and Square Enix, give us a visual and sound upgrade. Please and thank you.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 22, 2019
    7
    I played this great game when it originally launched, and still love it today. This is a good "on the go" version, but the sound is not good,I played this great game when it originally launched, and still love it today. This is a good "on the go" version, but the sound is not good, nor the performance, as I cant remember my old PlayStation taking too long to load a battle as it happens on this version. Also, the phone menu on the battle screen looks awful.
    It's a good version for nostalgia, or any person that hasn't played it before, but such a game deserves better updates. Hope if some day we get a Final Fantasy VIII remaster, it's a really good version.
    Full Review »