• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 15, 2019
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13

Where To Watch

Buy On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Andrea Reiher
    Jan 14, 2019
    60
    At its most basic narrative level, the show’s premise is only mildly interesting, but two things manage to elevate it enough so as to demonstrate the potential for good storytelling, and there’s also change from the original that gives the show more fertile ground to work with than a lot of CW dramas: The first is the immigration parallel. ... The second big thing Roswell, New Mexico has going for it is the mystery planted in the pilot.
  2. Reviewed by: Keisha Hatchett
    Jan 9, 2019
    60
    Roswell, New Mexico's attempt to say something about the world we live in today is commendable. However, the reboot failed to live up to its immigration-centered twist by adding nothing new or interesting to the conversation.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Amatangelo
    Jan 14, 2019
    59
    They’ve aged all the characters up, but they still act like they’re 15 years old.
  4. Reviewed by: Danette Chavez
    Jan 15, 2019
    50
    Roswell, New Mexico’s interpersonal drama works better than the run-of-the-mill mystery about a sister Liz realizes she may never have truly known.
  5. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jan 15, 2019
    50
    Like The CW's remake of Charmed, I see the elements of why the creators wanted to update this franchise and just wish it could be better.
  6. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 15, 2019
    50
    As with CW’s ongoing and likewise newly Latina-centered Charmed do-over, the story already seems played out in times when re-exploiting name brands unfortunately has become an end in itself.
  7. TV Guide Magazine
    Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 3, 2019
    50
    This grown-up Roswell has its moments but mostly reminds us how hard it is to recapture the magic of the original. [7-20 Jan 2019, p.11]
  8. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jan 11, 2019
    40
    The ham-handedness of Roswell, New Mexico, cannot be overstated.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 9 out of 28
  1. Jan 16, 2019
    2
    This is definitely not for me. I was a huge fan of the original Roswell series and this rewrite is just --- well--- obvious. If you haveThis is definitely not for me. I was a huge fan of the original Roswell series and this rewrite is just --- well--- obvious. If you have watched any other CW show (except for Supernatural) then you have already seen this. It ticks off every one of their boxes. Nope. I'd rather watch The Great British Baking Show than to run through another one of their formulaic series. Full Review »
  2. Jan 18, 2019
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I loved the original show and having watched this remake, i must say it wasn't my cup of tea. The characters do work, despite CW changing some white characters into more tinted. They are older now, so you don’t have that whole high school theme, it would have been ok if it stopped there. However having Michael and Alex French each other, was in my book insulting to the original story of both books and tv show. No problem if you want to represent the LGBTQ Community, but there are plenty of ways of doing this, without disrespecting these stories, first charmed and now Roswell. CW sure knows how to take works of art and turn them into a pile of junk. Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2019
    0
    This show is a copycat of the original Roswell series only it sucks-- the first 20 minutes they became political with untruths (sanctuaryThis show is a copycat of the original Roswell series only it sucks-- the first 20 minutes they became political with untruths (sanctuary city, the wall, etc) then the show tries to influence young people that certain behaviors are normal and their political beliefs should be the actors own. the original Roswell had good actors also but this show seemed to hire childish actors that literally cant act- I miss the original Roswell- netflx or hulu the original- Dont waste time with this trash Full Review »