• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 15, 2019
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 15, 2019
    80
    [An] enjoyable reboot.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    Reviewed by: Chancellor Agard
    Jan 14, 2019
    75
    The series feels very much at home on The CW, maybe too much so, as it doesn't initially stand out from the rest of the network's lineup. But there's hope it could blossom as the chemistry between Mason and Parsons grows. [18 Jan 2019, p.48]
  3. Reviewed by: Caroline Framke
    Jan 14, 2019
    70
    The heart of the show remains the psychic bond between Liz and Max, and diehard “Roswell” fans should be relieved to know that their dynamic remains much the same (and that Mason in particular proves a charismatic delight).
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 2, 2019
    64
    Sometimes the aliens-as-immigrants rhetoric is a little too on the nose but as remakes go, this iteration of “Roswell” seems like it will appeal to the current CW audience.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 21
  2. Negative: 8 out of 21
  1. Jan 16, 2019
    2
    This is definitely not for me. I was a huge fan of the original Roswell series and this rewrite is just --- well--- obvious. If you haveThis is definitely not for me. I was a huge fan of the original Roswell series and this rewrite is just --- well--- obvious. If you have watched any other CW show (except for Supernatural) then you have already seen this. It ticks off every one of their boxes. Nope. I'd rather watch The Great British Baking Show than to run through another one of their formulaic series. Full Review »
  2. Jan 18, 2019
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I loved the original show and having watched this remake, i must say it wasn't my cup of tea. The characters do work, despite CW changing some white characters into more tinted. They are older now, so you don’t have that whole high school theme, it would have been ok if it stopped there. However having Michael and Alex French each other, was in my book insulting to the original story of both books and tv show. No problem if you want to represent the LGBTQ Community, but there are plenty of ways of doing this, without disrespecting these stories, first charmed and now Roswell. CW sure knows how to take works of art and turn them into a pile of junk. Full Review »
  3. Jan 30, 2019
    0
    This show is a copycat of the original Roswell series only it sucks-- the first 20 minutes they became political with untruths (sanctuaryThis show is a copycat of the original Roswell series only it sucks-- the first 20 minutes they became political with untruths (sanctuary city, the wall, etc) then the show tries to influence young people that certain behaviors are normal and their political beliefs should be the actors own. the original Roswell had good actors also but this show seemed to hire childish actors that literally cant act- I miss the original Roswell- netflx or hulu the original- Dont waste time with this trash Full Review »