• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 15, 2019
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 9 out of 26

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 16, 2019
    2
    This is definitely not for me. I was a huge fan of the original Roswell series and this rewrite is just --- well--- obvious. If you have watched any other CW show (except for Supernatural) then you have already seen this. It ticks off every one of their boxes. Nope. I'd rather watch The Great British Baking Show than to run through another one of their formulaic series.
  2. Jan 24, 2019
    2
    Another crappy CW show. Clearly every change they made to the show is motivated by their agenda for social change and justified by the SJW handbook. The actual plot and dialog take a distant 5th place to their social agenda. Pretty much everything that was good about the original is missing from this poor remake. I don't mind remakes that are updated to current times but this is justAnother crappy CW show. Clearly every change they made to the show is motivated by their agenda for social change and justified by the SJW handbook. The actual plot and dialog take a distant 5th place to their social agenda. Pretty much everything that was good about the original is missing from this poor remake. I don't mind remakes that are updated to current times but this is just bad. Endless emo scenes interspersed with implausible situations and non-credible character actions. Skip it. How about focusing on interesting stories that are well told instead of formulaic indoctrinating BS? Expand
  3. Jan 30, 2019
    0
    This show is a copycat of the original Roswell series only it sucks-- the first 20 minutes they became political with untruths (sanctuary city, the wall, etc) then the show tries to influence young people that certain behaviors are normal and their political beliefs should be the actors own. the original Roswell had good actors also but this show seemed to hire childish actors thatThis show is a copycat of the original Roswell series only it sucks-- the first 20 minutes they became political with untruths (sanctuary city, the wall, etc) then the show tries to influence young people that certain behaviors are normal and their political beliefs should be the actors own. the original Roswell had good actors also but this show seemed to hire childish actors that literally cant act- I miss the original Roswell- netflx or hulu the original- Dont waste time with this trash Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2019
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the original show and having watched this remake, i must say it wasn't my cup of tea. The characters do work, despite CW changing some white characters into more tinted. They are older now, so you don’t have that whole high school theme, it would have been ok if it stopped there. However having Michael and Alex French each other, was in my book insulting to the original story of both books and tv show. No problem if you want to represent the LGBTQ Community, but there are plenty of ways of doing this, without disrespecting these stories, first charmed and now Roswell. CW sure knows how to take works of art and turn them into a pile of junk. Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2019
    10
    This reboot didn't disappoint me, it's not the best pilot ever, but it has potential. I really enjoyed the chemistry between the main characters, the rhythm and the soundtrack. The cast is full of new faces and they are fairly gy
  6. Jan 17, 2019
    10
    I really like this reboot. It works well and I'm looking forward to the next episode!!!!!!
  7. Jan 25, 2019
    10
    Was a fan or the original and I’m really enjoying this remake so far. Different from the original but not bad different. I personally am glad for the changes just because i don’t want it to be just the same story with different actors.
  8. Jan 25, 2019
    10
    I love this reboot. I especially love how these characters are adults and no longer in high school. The chemistry between the leads are wonderful and actually reminiscent of the original. I really hope this show last.
  9. Feb 11, 2019
    0
    Too much liberal propaganda. Sexual deviancy, reverse sexism, reverse racism, pro-illegal immigration, demonizing the POTUS... What a turn-off! I couldn't even get through the first episode. They took these lovable characters and turned them evil. Thank God for the old Roswell, which is perfect. This show doesn't deserve a second season. Hell, it doesn't even deserve a first season.Too much liberal propaganda. Sexual deviancy, reverse sexism, reverse racism, pro-illegal immigration, demonizing the POTUS... What a turn-off! I couldn't even get through the first episode. They took these lovable characters and turned them evil. Thank God for the old Roswell, which is perfect. This show doesn't deserve a second season. Hell, it doesn't even deserve a first season. Whoever created it should be shot. 0/10 Expand
  10. Mar 7, 2019
    8
    I loved the previous Roswell by Katim and all actors in it. I was a really supporter of that series and I was sad when it finished after just three seasons. Too short for my taste. Therefore, i was quite uncertain about the new series of Roswell and I did not want to give it any chance, but now I have to be honest, it is really good. Although, some have critic the new one I appreciated it.I loved the previous Roswell by Katim and all actors in it. I was a really supporter of that series and I was sad when it finished after just three seasons. Too short for my taste. Therefore, i was quite uncertain about the new series of Roswell and I did not want to give it any chance, but now I have to be honest, it is really good. Although, some have critic the new one I appreciated it. The previous Roswell was sometimes so static, this in just few episodes make me electric and interested on what's going on the next. I did not read the series of book and for this i cannot say if they follow or not them, but it is an interesting way to mix up some character, love story and so on. I like it Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Danette Chavez
    Jan 15, 2019
    50
    Roswell, New Mexico’s interpersonal drama works better than the run-of-the-mill mystery about a sister Liz realizes she may never have truly known.
  2. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 15, 2019
    80
    [An] enjoyable reboot.
  3. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    Jan 15, 2019
    50
    Like The CW's remake of Charmed, I see the elements of why the creators wanted to update this franchise and just wish it could be better.